Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

ANSI/NIST-ITL Standard Profiles and Implementations

The following are some of the application profiles based on the ANSI/NIST-ITL standard. These profiles allow organizations to specify which optional fields within the standard are mandatory in their environment, as well as to specify the details of the Type-2 record. If an organization has a profile that it would like listed, please send an email to Biometrics-editor [at] NIST.GOV (Biometrics-editor[at]NIST[dot]GOV) with a link to the standard.  

One major use of the standard is for the Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System, more commonly known as Next Generation Identification (NGI), by U.S. law enforcement (local, state, federal). NGI is a national fingerprint and criminal history system maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division. NGI uses the FBI Electronic Biometric Transmission Specification, or FBI EBTS, to define the interface between the NG and other agencies' systems. Using ANSI/NIST-ITL 1-2007, the EBTS specifies the file and record content, format, and data codes necessary for the exchange of biometric identification information between Federal, State and local users and the FBI.

The ability to transmit biometric samples is critical for enabling the DoD to share and leverage information across the DoD Biometrics Enterprise. The DoD EBTS supports requirements for DoD encounters and detainment circumstances, based upon ANSI/NIST-ITL 1-2007. This standard is intended for those applications requiring the exchange of biometric samples and related biographic and contextual data both within the DoD Biometrics Enterprise and with external agencies, coalition members, and governments. EBTS Version 2.0 is currently included in the DISR as a 'Mandated' standard as of April 3rd, 2010.

The Latent Interoperability Transmission Specification (LITS) is a system-level specification, parallel to and compatible with the FBI EBTS that focuses on the definition of vendor-neutral latent transactions to be exchanged among disparate cross-jurisdictional Next Generation Identification (NGI). LITS addresses latent NGI interoperability between and among the States, local law enforcement agencies, regional organizations, and Federal organizations.

The Department of Homeland Security's US-VISIT Program has been using IDENT Exchange Messages (IXM) based upon ANSI/NIST-ITL. The document Biometric Standards Requirements for US-VISIT outlines the migration to conformance with ANSI/NIST-ITL 2-2008.

The Terrorist Watchlist Person Data Exchange Package (TWPDES) uses the ANSI/NIST NIEM-conformant XML encoding (ANSI/NIST-ITL 1-2008) for biometric data exchange along with other relevant data. 

INTERPOL has established a profile based on ANSI/NIST-ITL 1-2000 called INT-I. An expert working group is currently addressing extending the profile for XML implementation. Nations currently sending files to INTERPOL using the ANSI/NIST-ITL standard are:











Czech Republic

South Africa






United Kingdom


United States

The Prüm Convention was signed by Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, and Luxembourg. The Implementing Document, Annex B.1 for the Convention definesthe requirements for the exchange of dactyloscopic information between the Next Generation Identification (NGI) of the Parties. It is based on the Interpol-Implementation of ANSI/NIST-ITL 1-2000 (INT-I, Version 4.22b).   It will be implemented by all member states the EU. 

The Schengen Area's (EU except for UK & Ireland, plus Switzerland, Iceland and Norway) Visa Information System is also based on ANSI/NIST-ITL.

The Western Identification Network (WIN) is an alliance of states in the western United States that have joined together to establish a multi-state Next Generation Identification (NGI) . Member states are Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming, with California as an Interface member. Their Interface Strategy is based upon ANSI/NIST-ITL. 

The following governments (not a complete list) utilize the ANSI/NIST ITL standard and have published information on the INTERNET indicating such. Some, but not all, have established specific profiles.





Argentina (spanish)

Mendoza (spanish)

Brazil (porteguese)

State of Rio de Janiero (porteguese)





(CÓDIGO: ST-CA-01-FT-01)






Guatemala (spanish)


Mexico (spanish)
Overview of PNIS

Tamaulipas (spanish)



South Africa
(SABS ARP 054)


United Kingdom


United States


Florida (FALCON)


New York




South Carolina





Venezuela (spanish)


NATO is considering a standardization agreement for biometric data exchanges based on the ANSI/NIST-ITL standard.


History of the Standard
Canvass Method
Presentations & Documents (2007/2008 versions)
Past Workshops Homepage



Created September 13, 2010, Updated August 28, 2022