Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP)

The National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP) provides third-party accreditation to testing and calibration laboratories in response to legislative actions or requests from government agencies or private-sector organizations. NVLAP-accredited laboratories are assessed against the management and technical requirements published in the International Standard, ISO/IEC 17025:2017.

News & Announcements

NVLAP transition to ISO/IEC 17025:2017 
The International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) has established a 3-year transition period for demonstration of conformity to the new version of the standard.  As a result, NVLAP has developed a transition plan to ensure all NVLAP-accredited laboratories will meet the requirements of the 2017 version of the ISO/IEC 17025 standard within the required time frame.*

At this time, all initial applications for accreditation and all renewal applications requiring an onsite assessment will be assessed against the requirements of  ISO/IEC 17025:2017.


*It is important to note that accreditation to ISO/IEC 17025:2005 will no longer be recognized as of November 30, 2020.  As such, the NVLAP transition plan was designed to ensure that all laboratories will be able to complete the assessment process in order to maintain the recognition of its accreditation.

Please contact us at if you have any questions about the new standard or the NVLAP schedule for its implementation.