Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST and the Nobel

This microsite celebrates the scientists who received the Nobel Prize for work they did at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Click on the images of the NIST laureates to learn more about their lives, work, and legacies.

NIST Nobel Winners

Dave Wineland Headshot

Dave Wineland

2012 Nobel Prize in Physics
Experimental Quantum Mechanics

Read More

Dan Shechtman Headshot

Dan Shechtman

2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Read More

Jan Hall Headshot

Jan Hall

2005 Nobel Prize in Physics
Frequency Combs

Read More

Eric Cornell Headshot

Eric Cornell

2001 Nobel Prize in Physics
Bose-Einstein Condensates

Read More

Bill Phillips Headshot

Bill Phillips

1997 Nobel Prize in Physics
Laser Cooling

Read More

Other NIST Connections to the Nobel Prize 

Learn how NIST researchers have contributed to other Nobel prizes and laureates, from Marie Curie's radium samples to the improved detection of chemical weapons.

Learn More

Marie Curie Portrait Image
Marie Curie

Katharine Blodgett Gebbie
Credit: Denease Anderson / NIST

Special Acknowledgement

Katharine Blodgett Gebbie

Katharine Blodgett Gebbie (1932-2016) led NIST to its four Nobel Prizes in physics as the former director of NIST’s Physical Measurement Laboratory and Physics Laboratory, which included Bill Phillips, Dave Wineland, Eric Cornell and Jan Hall. In this video, released in early 2016, Gebbie describes her life and work.

View Video