Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Organizational Excellence 2018

Below is a list of quick links to each of the 2018 MML Accolades for Organizational Excellence where each accolade is described and a list of the awardees and their contributions are provided.  

Excellence in MML Administration

To recognize those in MML or at NIST who have gone above and beyond in serving MML staff, associates, and/or stakeholders in their administrative roles or through an administrative function

2018 Excel. MML Admin Daniels

Susan Daniels

For outstanding administrative expertise, organizational and communication skills in service to the MML Lab Office

Robert Tomko

For superior facilitation of the development of support documentation and complete procurement packages sent to AMD

2018 Excel. MML Admin Tomko

Accolades Artifact 2018

Janet Williams

For outstanding service and superior administrative support to the Metallurgy/Materials Science and Engineering Division for over 27 years

Excellence in MML Safety

To recognize, encourage, and reward safety-related leadership, innovation, preventative or corrective actions, or the implementation of best practices in MML.

2018 Excel MML Safety Blackmon et al.

James Michael Blackmon, Christopher Neary, Michael Coleman, Ross Haynes

For chemical waste pick up of thousands of chemicals in a short time without compromising safety and chemical regulations


MML Mentor

To recognize an MML staff member or Associate who has played a significant role in the support and guidance of other staff members.

2018 MML Mentor

Tracey Schock

For tireless dedication to mentoring and training students as well as her colleagues and community to produce quality results in metabolomics

MML Outreach

 To recognize MML staff members and Associates who played a significant role in educational outreach to the community.

2018 MML Outreach

Thomas Bruno, Tara Lovestead, Wendi Copello, Kimberly Urness, Kavita Jeerage, Jason Widegren, Megan Harries, Jessica Burger, Elba Aguirre

For conducting a superb two-day short course to educate judges in the science of vapor sampling and characterization


Service and Support to MML

To recognize MML staff members and Associates, as well as those in other OUs, who have made MML a better place to work, have gone the extra mile to help MML staff ‘get the job done,’ or who have streamlined processes to make MML operate more efficiently.

2018 Service and Support Katz

Michael Katz

For broadening the applicability and impact of the NIST Electron Microscopy Nexus facility through outreach efforts, collaboration, and equipment retooling

Neşe Sari

For providing exceptional technical and facilities support to the joint NIST-UMD NMR measurement program at IBBR

2018 Service and Support Sari

2018 Service and Support White

Ryan White

For providing extraordinary and unprecedented service and financial savings to MML and ACMD through his strategic use of the government excess equipment system

Rebecca Zangmeister

For exemplary leadership, professionalism, and innovation during her three-year coordination of the impactful SURF program

2018 Service and Support Zangmeister


Service in Professional Organizations

To recognize those in MML who serve with distinction in professional organizations that further the NIST mission.

2018 MML Outreach Lau

June Lau

For significant contributions and deep engagement with the professional magnetic research communities, where she is recognized as a global leader

Sigma Xi Leadership: Top, Left to right:  Jonathan Seppala, Angela Hight Walker, Eric Shirley, Robert Berg, Aaron Forster, Amanda Forster, Christopher Stafford, M. Lorna De Leoz, Abigail Lindstrom.  Bottom, left to right:  Joseph Conny, Magdalena Navarro, Katya Delak, Regina Easley

For leadership of the NIST Chapter of Sigma Xi, encouraging scientific excellence and collaboration across NIST

2018 MML Outreach Seppala et al

Created May 21, 2018, Updated May 23, 2018