Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Legal Task Group

The FSSB’s Legal Task Group is primarily comprised of at least one member from each OSAC subcommittee to provide a legal perspective for the subcommittee. Task group members are selected based on their experience in litigating, judging, legal counseling, teaching or writing about forensic science evidence in the legal system. The group is available for consulting with the FSSB and all OSAC subcommittees on legal and legally related issues. Task group members work together to gather and submit their comments on standards, technical publications, definitions, and other OSAC and FSSB documents, with an emphasis on their legal impacts and on the presentation of forensic science results within the legal system.


David H. Kaye, Task Group Chair, Pennsylvania State University

Kent E. Cattani, Task Group Vice Chair, Arizona Court of Appeals (representing OSAC's Odontology Subcommittee)


Valena Beety, Arizona State University Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law (representing OSAC's Fire & Explosion Investigation Subcommittee)

Enid Camps, State of California, Department of Justice (representing OSAC's Disaster Victim Identification Subcommittee)

Jason Chin, Alameda County Superior Court, California (representing OSAC's Geological Materials and Materials (Trace) Subcommittees)

Jessica Cino Gable, Georgia State University College of Law (representing OSAC's Friction Ridge Subcommittee)

Dana Delger, Innocence Project (representing OSAC's Speaker Recognition Subcommittee)

Stephanie Domitrovich, Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts (representing OSAC's Speaker Recognition Subcommittee)

Todd Edelman, Superior Court of the District of Columbia (representing OSAC's Forensic Document Examination Subcommittee)

John Ellis, Federal Defenders of San Diego, Inc. (representing OSAC's VITAL Subcommittee)

Sabrina Feve, U.S. Department of Justice (representing OSAC's Digital Evidence Subcommittee)

Jennifer Friedman, Federal Defender for the Central District of California (representing OSAC's Biology/DNA SAC, Biological Data Interpretation & Reporting Subcommittee, and Biological Methods Subcommittee)

Lynn Garcia, Texas Forensic Science Commission (representing OSAC's Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis SAC and Seized Drugs Subcommittee)

Christopher Kelly, Massachusetts Attorney General (representing OSAC's Digital Evidence Subcommittee)

Julia Leighton, Self-employed (representing OSAC's Dogs & Sensors Subcommittee)

Daniel Martin, State of Arizona/Maricopa County (representing OSAC's Anthropology Subcommittee)

Elizabeth Meli, U.S. Department of Justice (representing OSAC's Fire Debris & Explosives and Gunshot Residue Subcommittees)

Cedric Neumann, South Dakota State University

Kate Philpott, Self-employed (representing OSAC's Bloodstain Pattern Analysis Subcommittee)

Christopher Plourd, State of California (representing OSAC's Toxicology Subcommittee)

Matthew Redle, Sheridan County Prosecuting Attorney's Office (representing OSAC's Footwear & Tire Subcommittee)

Ronald Reinstein, Arizona Supreme Court (representing OSAC's Crime Scene Investigation Subcommittee)

Andrea Roth, U.C. Berkeley School of Law (representing OSAC's Wildlife Forensics Subcommittee)

Lori Varnell, Tarrant County Criminal District Attorney's Office (representing OSAC's Facial Identification Subcommittee)


Created June 25, 2014, Updated July 1, 2020