Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Jeffrey W Lynn (Fed)

NIST Fellow and Team Leader, NIST Center for Neutron Research

Physicist Jeffrey Lynn is a NIST Fellow and Team Leader for Condensed Matter Physics in the NIST Center for Neutron Research at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, MD. His primary responsibilities are in the area of Condensed Matter Physics Research and for the triple-axis neutron spectrometers at the NCNR, including the BT-7 double-focusing thermal triple axis instrument.  He also has a longstanding relationship as Professor of Physics at the University of Maryland, and currently is an Adjunct Professor in Physics and a member of the Quantum Materials Center.

He began his neutron scattering career as an undergraduate at the Georgia Institute of Technology, and received his doctorate in 1974 from Georgia Tech while conducting his thesis research as an Oak Ridge Associated Universities Fellow at the High Flux Isotope Reactor, Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  He then joined the neutron scattering group at Brookhaven National Laboratory as a postdoctoral fellow, before accepting a faculty appointment in 1976 in the Department of Physics at the University of Maryland and consultant at the National Bureau of Standards (now NIST).  In the 1990's he joined the NIST Center of Neutron Research full time, resigning his tenure to become Adjunct Professor at the University of Maryland.  He has held various elected leadership positions in the American Physical Society, and is a Fellow of the APS, the Neutron Scattering Society of America, and the Washington Academy of Sciences.  He has written numerous reviews as well as a graduate text (edited) on High Tc Superconductivity, has well over 600 publications in refereed journals and an H index of 97 (GS).  In 2011 President Obama selected him to receive the Distinguished Award of Presidential Rank, the Nation's highest civil service award.


Google Scholar logo
Credit: Google, Inc

(6/2023)              All        Since 2018

Citations           37198          7299

h-index                   97              38

i-10index               453            191

Link to Google Scholar

Honors and Awards

Jeff's Publications

Research descriptions in a few areas:

Exotic Order, Spin-Orbit Coupling, and Topological Systems

         Spin Orbit and Topological Materials

         Magnetic Monopoles and Spin Liquids


        Iron-based Superconductors       

        Spin Dynamics in Cuprate Superconductors

        Magnetic Order in Superconductors

        Structure and Dynamics of Superconducting NaxCoO2 Hydrate and Its Anhydrated Analog

        Flux Lattice in Superconductors and Melting

Manganites and Related Materials:


        Colossal Magnetoresistive Oxides 

        NaMnO2 Spin Dynamics and Battery Technology

        Magnetocaloric Systems

Work in various categories:

        Neutron Techniques and Instrumentation

        Lattice Dynamics Publications

        Spin Dynamics Publications

        Magnetic Structure Determinations


Incommensurate Magnetic Orders and Possible Topological Hall Effect in the Square-Net Centrosymmetric EuGa2Al2 System

Jaime Moya, Shiming Lei, Eleanor Clements, Caitlin Kengle, Stella Sun, Kevin Allen, Qizhi Li, Y. Peng, Ali Husain, Matteo Mitrano, Matthew Krogstad, Raymond Osborn, Anand Puthirath, Songxue Chi, Lisa Debeer-Schmitt, Jonathan N. Gaudet, P. Abbamonte, Jeffrey Lynn, E. Morosan
Neutron diffraction on the centrosymmetric square-net magnet EuGa 2 Al 2 reveals multiple incommensurate magnetic states (AFM1,2,3) in zero field. In applied

Topological Phase Transition and Charge-Spin Coupling in the Kagome Metal YMn6Sn6

Peter E. Siegfried, Hari Bhandari, David C. Jones, Madhav P. Ghimire, Rebecca Dally, Lekh Poudel, Markus Bleuel, Jeffrey Lynn, Igor I. Mazin, Nirmal J. Ghimire
The Fermi surface (FS) is essential for understanding the properties of metals. It can change under both conventional symmetry-breaking phase transitions and
Created October 9, 2019, Updated August 3, 2023