Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Common Criteria Testing LAP

This page has been established for applicants to the Common Criteria Testing accreditation program. 

Proficiency Testing Requirements 

Laboratories are required to successfully complete a commercial evaluation annually under the oversight of the NIAP validation scheme. Laboratory results are then subject to the NIAP common criteria point system (CCTL). NIAP uses the CCTL system to assign points for issues identified by NIAP during the review of results for each testing/evaluation activity. The laboratory is to maintain a point total of less than 12 points during a defined two-year period of accreditation. The continued demonstration of successfully completing NIAP evaluations serves as a means of demonstrating the validity of test results.

Requirements Documents

References and Information



Created July 10, 2013, Updated May 6, 2024