Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Nano- and Atom-scale Length Metrology



Theodore V. Vorburger, Ronald G. Dixson, Ndubuisi G. Orji, Joseph Fu, Richard A. Allen, Michael W. Cresswell, Vincent A. Hackley


Measurements of length at the nano-scale have increasing importance in manufacturing, especially in the electronics and biomedical industries. The properties of linewidth and step height are critical to the function and specification of semiconductor devices. The ability to manufacture small particles of controlled sizes is critical for developing diagnostic and therapeutic products in the rapidly growing biomedical industries. We review here four topics associated with calibrated measurements of nano-scale lengths at NIST: measurements of linewidth by critical dimension atomic force microscopy (CD-AFM), measurements of 0.3 nm and 1 nm lattice based step height standards with a calibrated AFM, international comparisons in nanometrology among national measurement institutes, and gold-nanoparticle Reference Materials with nominal sizes of 10 nm, 30 nm, and 60 nm.
Conference Dates
October 25-27, 2010
Conference Location
Worcester, MA
Conference Title
2nd International Conference on Surface Metrology


nanometrology, calibration, atomic force microscopy, nanoparticles, linewidth, step height, international comparison


Vorburger, T. , Dixson, R. , Orji, N. , Fu, J. , Allen, R. , Cresswell, M. and Hackley, V. (2010), Nano- and Atom-scale Length Metrology, 2nd International Conference on Surface Metrology, Worcester, MA (Accessed June 19, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created October 1, 2010, Updated February 19, 2017