Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Gary Howarth (Fed)

Physical Scientist


Gary Howarth is a Physical Scientist and project manager for the Public Safety Communications Research Division (CTL) and the Privacy Engineering Program (ITL). In that role, he interfaces with diverse stakeholders from academia, government, the first responder community, and the public to develop and deliver programs that accelerate the development of technology responsive to public needs. He earned his PhD in the Chemistry Department at Columbia University. He has previously taught high school science and co-founded the NET Charter High School in New Orleans. 

Current projects: 


  • George A. Uriano Award, National Institute of Standards and Technology: for outstanding achievements in building or strengthening NIST extramural programs (2021)
  • Presidential Management Fellowship, Office of Personnel Management: two-year appointment at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (8/2019-8/2021)
  • Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award, National Institutes of Health: award in support for dissertation research (8/2016-8/2018) 
  • Murdock Undergraduate Research Fellowship, Oregon Health & Sciences University: award for undergraduate research (5/2005)


PSCR 2021: Pecha Kucha Portfolio Overviews

John Beltz, Scott Ledgerwood, Roger Blalock, Joe Grasso, John S. Garofolo, Jesse Frey, Cara O'Malley, Fernando Cintron, Bill Fisher, Gema Howell, Yee-Yin Choong, Jack Lewis, Paul Merritt, Edmond J. Golden III, Ian Soboroff, Craig Connelly, Gary Howarth, Brianna Vendetti, Katelynn Kapalo, Margaret Pinson
PSCR Research Portfolio Leaders join their staff to provide an overview of the projects housed within their PSCR portfolio. Each portfolio overview is delivered

PSCR 2020_ Tech to Protect - Year in Review

Craig T. Connelly, Jason D. Kahn, Gary S. Howarth, Margaret Pinson, Bill Schrier, Charles Hardnett, Lauren Schluzas, Austin Handle, Levi Adissi, Francis Lin, Zack Braun
Launched in April 2019, the Tech to Protect Challenge is one year old. This session will recap the progress to date, highlight recent national award winners
Created September 17, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022