Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NVLAP Recognized by the FCC to Accredit Test Firms in Non-MRA Countries

The United States Federal Communications Commission (FCC) issued DA 17-275 on March 23, 2017, officially announcing that the National Voluntary Laboratory Accreditation Program (NVLAP) scope of recognition has been expanded to include the accreditation of electromagnetic compatibility and telecommunications (ECT) testing laboratories located in the following non-MRA countries: People’s Republic of China, Indonesia, India, Philippines, Russia, Switzerland, Thailand and Ukraine. This expanded scope of recognition will allow NVLAP to designate accredited laboratories to the FCC for recognition in these non-MRA countries.

To perform compliance testing that is acceptable under the FCC Declaration of Conformity (DoC) and Certification programs, as of July 13, 2017, a laboratory must be accredited by a body that the FCC has recognized as meeting the requirements for performing the accreditation of testing laboratories.

Based on the process outlined in 47 CFR 2.949, NVLAP submitted information that proved its ability to successfully address the FCC’s requirements to accredit labs in those countries and the expansion to the recognition was granted.  NVLAP has been recognized to accredit U.S. testing laboratories to test devices to the FCC requirements since 1996. NVLAP currently accredits test laboratories worldwide.

NVLAP accredits testing and calibration laboratories that are found competent to perform specific tests or calibrations, or types of tests or calibrations, as set forth in Part 285 of Title 15 for the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations.



Created May 8, 2017