Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

CHRNS Organization Chart


  • Dan Neumann, Director, PI
  • Julie Borchers, Associate Director, co-PI
  • Joe Dura, Education and Outreach Director, co-PI

Macromolecule and Microstructural Science Team (SANS)

  • Paul Butler (team leader)
  • CHRNS Very Small Angle Neutron Scattering (vSANS) – Elizabeth Kelley, Yun Liu, Kathryn Krycka, Ryan Murphy and Cedric Gagnon

Structure and Dynamics of Materials Team (inelastic scattering and diffraction)

  • Craig Brown, co-PI (and team leader)
  • CHRNS Multi-Axis Crystal Spectrometer (MACS) - Yiming Qiu and Jose Rodriguez
  • CHRNS High-Flux Backscattering Spectrometer (HFBS) - Madhusudan Tyagi and Richard Azuah
  • CHRNS Neutron Spin Echo Spectrometer (NSE) - Antonio Faraone and Michihiro Nagao

Surfaces and Interfaces Team (Reflectometry)

  • Chuck Majkrzak, (team leader)
  • CHRNS White Beam Reflectometer (CANDOR) – Alex Grutter, David Hoogerheide and Brian Maranville

User Services Team (sample environment and labs)

  • Yamali Hernandez, co-PI (and team leader)
  • Sample Environments and Labs - Tanya Dax, Sergiy Gladchenko, Donna Kalteyer, Juscelino Leão, and Alan Ye

Non-Equilibrium Structure of Materials Initiative (Craig Brown, Project Lead)

  • Paul Kienzle and Peter Beaucage




    Created April 28, 2017, Updated August 9, 2021