Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee

Members of the OSAC Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee
Members of the OSAC Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee (July 2019)


OSAC Crime Scene Death Investigation SAC lgog

The Crime Scene/Death Investigation SAC provides strategic direction, serves as a platform to integrate similar standards activities across multiple forensic science disciplines, and manages the activities of the following subcommittees:

Learn more about the Crime Scene/Death Investigation SAC published in the July 2019 OSAC Newsletter.

Officers | Members | Ex-Officio Members | Presentations


Jason Wiersema, Ph.D., SAC Chair, Harris County (Texas) Institute of Forensic Sciences

Vacant, SAC Vice Chair

Jeremy Chappell, SAC Executive Secretary, Kansas City (Missouri) Police Department


John Allen, U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Kenneth Aschheim, DDS, New York City Office of Chief Medical Examiner, Chair of the OSAC Odontology Subcommittee

Elissia Conlon, City of New York Office of Chief Medical Examiner, Chair of the OSAC Disaster Victim Identification Subcommittee

Michael Kessler, National Forensic Science Technology Center (NFSTC), Chair of the OSAC Crime Scene Investigation Subcommitee

Craig Beyler, Ph.D., Jensen Hughes, Chair of the OSAC Fire and Explosion Investigation Subcommittee

Kenneth Furton, Ph.D., Florida International University, Chair of the OSAC Dogs and Sensors Subcommittee

Thomas Holland, Ph.D., DOD Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command, Central Identification Laboratory, Chair of the OSAC Anthropology Subcommittee

Gerald McGwin, Jr., M.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham

Keith Pinckard, M.D., Travis County Medical Examiner's Office, Chair of the OSAC Medicolegal Death Investigation

Shawn Wilson, Hennepin County (Minnesota) Medical Examiner

Ex-Officio Members

Deborah Davis, Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno (HFC)

D. Michael Risinger, Seton Hall University School of Law (HFC)

Kent E. Cattani, Arizona Court of Appeals (LRC)


OSAC Public Update and Discussions Meeting - Crime Scene/Death Investigation SAC Updates (June 5, 2019)

Created July 9, 2014, Updated December 17, 2019