Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Designation Requirements Chinese Taipei: National Communications Commission (NCC)


Through the American Institute of Taiwan (AIT) and the Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office (TECRO), the US and Chinese Taipei signed exchange letters to implement Phase I of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for the Conformity Assessment of Telecommunication Equipment (APEC Tel MRA)  on March 16, 1999.

The MRA between the US and Chinese Taipei covers the recognition of testing laboratories (Phase I) and acceptance of test reports generated by those recognized labs.

Regulatory Authority

There are two Chinese Taipei organizations that regulate aspects of telecommunications equipment:   

  • National Communications Commission (NCC – formerly DGT) 
    The NCC regulates the telecommunications/radio, information and broadcasting sectors.
  • Bureau of Standards, Metrology and Inspection (BSMI)
    The BSMI is the authority responsible for standardization, metrology and product inspection.  BSMI regulates EMC for telecommunications products.   

This webpage covers the requirements for designation to NCC only. To obtain the requirements for designation to BSMI, please visit the  NIST BSMI webpage.

Standards Available for NCC Recognition

NCC’s Annex I (July 10, 2024) lists the technical regulations available for Phase I recognition. Please also check the NCC website and the CNS online website (for CNS standards) to reconfirm the current availability of each technical regulation listed in the Annex I.

NCC requires that the year of the technical regulation be included on the ISO/IEC 17025 Scope of Accreditation.


CNS 13438:  As of January 1, 2024, NCC no longer accepts EMC test reports for CNS 13438. 

CNS 15936: As of January 1, 2024, NCC is accepting test reports for CNS 15936 that are issued by BSMI recognized laboratories (including foreign MRA CABs). If your CAB is already recognized by BSMI for CNS 15936, it is NOT necessary to apply for designation of this standard to NCC. 

LP0002 (2020):  The 2020 version of LP0002 expires on December 31, 2024.  

LP0002 (2024):  This standard is comprised of (1) LP0002 (2020) and (2) new section 5.13.   The 2024 version becomes mandatory on January 1, 2025. 

General CAB Requirements

The CAB must meet the following General Requirements.

Application Documents & Process

The CAB shall submit the following documents to NIST electronically at mra [at] (mra[at]nist[dot]gov).

Once NIST has reviewed the application and confirmed its completeness, NIST will forward a designation request to NCC, who, under the terms of the MRA, has up to 60 days to respond to NIST. 

Clarifications on Test Report Requirements

NCC requires that test reports be based upon the latest version of one of the NCC Standards of interest. Under NCC certification procedure, the following are normally required for acceptance of a test report.

  1. Include the test procedure, laboratory layout and photographs with the test report.
  2. Include the test method and test procedure being performed on the test report and also include:
  • Name, trade name, model number of test equipment
  • Measurement setup diagram and description
  • Name, trade and model number of testing instruments
  • Technical regulations be performed
  • Test items and its standards
  • Test data and verdict of test results
  • Date of acceptance and completion of testing
  • Uncertainty of measurement
  • Signature of the testing personnel

 About the APEC TEL MRA

The initial signing of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunications Equipment (APEC Tel MRA) took place on May 8, 1998.  Participation in the APEC Tel MRA is voluntary and includes two phases: Phase I for mutual acceptance of test reports and Phase II for certification or product approvals.  The United States has implemented the APEC Tel MRA with many countries and more are forthcoming.

For Further Information

For questions about the implementation of the APEC TEL MRA with Chinese Taipei, please contact the NIST Telecom MRA Program via mra [at] (mra[at]nist[dot]gov).

Technical Content Last Revised on July 19, 2024


Created April 5, 2017, Updated July 19, 2024