Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Catalog of Standards

Catalog of Standards


One of the most useful sources of information about smart grid standards is the Catalog of Standards, which is produced and maintained by the SEPA and the Smart Grid Interoperability Panel (SGIP)(link is external). As described in the NIST Framework and Roadmap for Smart Grid Interoperability Standards, Release 3.0 , the Catalog of Standards will serve as a compendium of standards, practices, and guidelines considered relevant for the development and deployment of a robust and interoperable smart grid. The extensive information included for each entry in the Catalog of Standards will be a very useful resource for utilities, manufacturers, regulators, consumers, and other smart grid stakeholders.


The Catalog of Standards was established by the SGIP Governing Board in May 2011, and the first six standards to be included in the catalog were approved by the SGIP Plenary in July 2011. As of June 2017, the number of standards or standards components added to the Catalog of Standards stands at 81. It is anticipated that the catalog will eventually contain hundreds of these consensus documents.

The Catalog of Standards provides a key—but not exclusive—source of input to the NIST process for coordinating the development of a framework of protocols and model standards for an interoperable smart grid. To better understand the relationship between SGIP's "Catalog of Standards" and NIST's "Identified Standards" list, please use this link.

For a layperson's introduction to the Catalog of Standards, this brochure is a good starting point.

Created June 18, 2012, Updated July 17, 2017