Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Katrice Lippa (Fed)

Group Leader and Supervisory Research Chemist

Katrice presently serves as Group Leader for the Organic Chemical Metrology Group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). The group develops and promotes Standard Reference Materials and Data products for organic species in clinical diagnostics and metabolomics, food nutritional labeling, food safety, natural products, and chemical manufacturing and forensics project areas; maintains high resolution mass spectrometry, multidimensional separation procedures, vibrational and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy facilities and expertise for analyses at trace and ultratrace concentration levels; provides advice and measurement services to other government agencies (federal and state), scientific organizations, and American industry; and interacts with international standards organizations and other National Metrology Institutes (NMIs) to establish comparability of measurement capabilities.

Her research directions at NIST had focused on quantitative NMR techniques for the characterization of pure substances as well as organic constituents in biological and natural matrices, in addition to advancing metrologically-sound methods for ensuring chemical traceability. Trained as a research analytical chemist, Katrice has extensive experience in trace-level organic measurement techniques (chromatography-mass spectrometry) and implementation of structure-reactivity/molecular modeling tools to help solve chemical measurement problems. She also has expertise in interlaboratory comparisons and coordination of the Division’s Quality Assurance Programs (QAPs). She also represents NIST in the InterAmerican Metrology System (SIM) and the Consultative Committee for Amount of Substance – Metrology in Chemistry and Biology (CCQM) to develop metrology tools for traceability and to establish equivalence among measurements made by NMIs.

Professional Activities

  • Consultative Committee for Amount of Substance: Metrology in Chemistry and Biology (CCQM)
  • InterAmerican Metrology System (SIM)
  • ISO Committee on Reference Materials (ISO/REMCO)
  • Metabolomics Quality Assurance and Quality Control Consortium (mQACC)
  • American Chemical Society
  • AOAC International


  • Allen V. Astin Measurement Science Award, Department of Commerce, 2018
  • Department of Commerce Bronze Medal Award, National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2018
  • Material Measurement Laboratory Technical Outreach Award, National Institute of Standards and Technology, 2017
  • National Research Council Postdoctoral Research Fellow, 2002
  • Young Scientist Research Award, Division of Agrochemicals, American Chemical Society, 2000
  • Graduate Student Award in Environmental Chemistry, American Chemical Society, 2000
  • Dissertation Fellow, American Association of University Women Education Foundation, 1999
  • Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry, American Chemical Society, 1991


Production and Analysis of RM 8403 Cocoa Flavanol Extract

Catherine A. Rimmer, Katrice A. Lippa, James H. Yen, Ugo Bussy, Gregory Hewitt, Nicholas P. Anderson, Catherine Kwik-Uribe
NIST Reference Material 8403 is intended for use in harmonizing methods for the determination of cocoa flavanols monomers and their oligomers up to a degree of

Metrological Tools for the Reference Materials and Reference Instruments of the NIST Material Measurement Laboratory

Carlos R. Beauchamp, Johanna Camara, Jennifer Carney, Steven J. Choquette, Kenneth D. Cole, Paul C. DeRose, David L. Duewer, Michael S. Epstein, Margaret C. Kline, Katrice A. Lippa, Enrico Lucon, Karen W. Phinney, Maria Polakoski, Antonio M. Possolo, Katherine E. Sharpless, John R. Sieber, Blaza Toman, Michael R. Winchester, Donald A. Windover
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), formerly the National Bureau of Standards, was established by the U.S. Congress in 1901 and charged
Created October 9, 2019, Updated June 15, 2021