Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you've safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

David G. Seiler

Dr. Seiler received his Ph. D. and M.S. Degrees in Physics from Purdue University and a B.S. in Physics from Case Western Reserve University. In 2000, he received a Distinguished Alumni Award from Purdue University's School of Science for his contributions and achievements in semiconductors. He has developed an extensive research background in many areas of semiconductor physics. He has worked with the characterization of the electrical, optical, and nonlinear optical properties of numerous semiconductors and artificially structured materials, concentrating on quantum transport effects, two-photon absorption spectroscopy, and magneto-optical effects. His current focus is on understanding and advancing the metrology and characterization measurements needed by the semiconductor industry. The results of his research have been disseminated in over 200 publications and 100 talks throughout the world.

Dr. Seiler is and has been integrally involved in a wide variety of important activities for the semiconductor community which include: contributing toward the Semiconductor Industry Association's National Technology Roadmap for Semiconductors (NTRS) in 1991, 1994, and 1997, as well as the ITRS in 1999 and subsequent years; being a member of International SEMATECH's Analytical Lab Managers Working Group (in the 90s); planning and carrying out two industrial surveys on characterization measurements for HgCdTe and optical characterization methods for the semiconductor industry; holding the positions of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the IRIS Specialty Group on Infrared Materials (1990-95); holding the position of Recording Secretary for the American Society for Testing and Materials Committee F-01 on Electronics (ASTM, for 1996-97); being elected for positions on the Executive Committee and of Vice Chair and Chair, and serving on Fellowship and Award Committees of the American Physical Society's Topical Group on Instrument and Measurement Science (1997-2000); being elected to serve on the Forum and on Industrial and Applied Physics of the APS executive Committee (2004-2008), and being elected Vice Chair and Chair (2013-2017); and holding membership in numerous evaluation and reviewer panels for state and U.S. government programs. He has also served on the executive committee of the Manufacturing Science and Technology Group of the American Vacuum Society, the IEEE Electron Device Society's Regions/Chapters Committee, the IEEE Electron Device Society's Semiconductor Manufacturing Committee, the IEEE's Corporate Innovation Award Committee, and the Governing Council of the Nanoelectronics Research Initiative.

Dr. Seiler has been Chairperson and Proceedings Editor of 13 International Conferences or Workshops: Hot Electrons in Semiconductors in 1977, Narrow Gap Semiconductors in 1989, HgCdTe Characterization International Workshop in 1992 (see Vol. 8, No. 6S, of the June 1993 issue of Semiconductor Science and Technology), and ten entries of the International Conference on Frontiers of Characterization and Metrology for Nanoelectronics series (formerly titled Characterization and Metrology for ULSI Technology). He is the co-editor and a co-author of a chapter in Vol. 36 of Semiconductors and Semimetals (1992) and is a co-author of the chapter "Optical Properties of Semiconductors" in the McGraw Hill Handbook of Optics (1995, revised in 2009). Additionally, he is a co-editor of journals and books containing the proceedings from nine different international conferences and/or workshops. He has been a member of the editorial Sub-Board for the journal Semiconductor Science and Technology. He is also a member of American Association for the Advancement of Science, Materials Research Society, American Vacuum Society, ASTM, Sigma Pi Sigma, and Sigma Xi. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (in 1991 "for pioneering contributions involving two-photon absorption spectroscopy in high magnetic fields and for quantum transport measurements to elucidate novel band structure features of many semiconductors.") and a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (in 2006 "for leadership in the development of critical metrology and measurement science at the micro and nano levels").

Prior to joining NIST in 1988, Dr. Seiler served as a Solid State Physics Program Director in the Materials Research Division at the National Science Foundation, spent a year's sabbatical at the MIT Francis Bitter National Magnet Laboratory, and had been a Regents Professor of Physics at the University of North Texas. Dr. Seiler was previously Chief of the Engineering Physics Division, served as the Materials Technology Group Leader in the Division, and served as a Program Analyst in the Program Office for the Director of NIST.


Epitaxially-grown self-assembled Bi2Se3/Bi2MnSe4 multilayer heterostructures

Joseph A. Hagmann, Xiang Li, Si-Ning Dong, Sergei Rouvimov, Sujitra J. Pookpanratana, Kin Man Yu, Tatyana Orlova, Curt A. Richter, David G. Seiler, Xinyu Liu, Jacek K. Furdyna, Margaret Dobrowolska
Progress in understanding topologically non-trivial systems offers the promise of predicting novel systems that demonstrate the remarkable properties associated

Interacting nanoscale magnetic cluster arrays in molybdenum oxide bronzes

Joseph A. Hagmann, Son T. Le, Lynn F. Schneemeyer, Joseph A. Stroscio, Tiglet Besara, Theo Siegrist, Curt A. Richter, David G. Seiler
In this study, we examine several reduced ternary molybdates in the family of rare earth molybdenum bronzes produced by electrochemical synthesis with
Created August 27, 2019