Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee

Members of the OSAC Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee
Members of the OSAC Crime Scene/Death Investigation SAC at the July 2019 OSAC Meeting in Orlando, Florida.
OSAC Crime Scene Death Investigation SAC lgog

The Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committee (SAC) provides strategic direction, serves as a platform to integrate similar standards activities across multiple forensic science disciplines, and manages the activities of the following subcommittees:


Jason Wiersema, Ph.D., SAC Chair, Harris County (Texas) Institute of Forensic Sciences

Michael P. Kessler, SAC Vice Chair, National Forensic Science Technology Center (NFSTC)

Jeremy Chappell, SAC Executive Secretary, Kansas City (Missouri) Police Department


John Allen, U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives

Kenneth Aschheim, DDS, New York City Office of Chief Medical Examiner, Chair of the OSAC Odontology Subcommittee

Craig Beyler, Hughes Associates Fire Science and Engineering, Chair of the OSAC Fire & Explosion Investigation Subcommittee

Elissia Conlon, City of New York Office of Chief Medical Examiner, Chair of the OSAC Disaster Victim Identification Subcommittee

Kenneth Furton, Ph.D., Florida International University, Chair of the OSAC Dogs & Sensors Subcommittee

Thomas Holland, Ph.D., DoD Joint POW/MIA Accounting Command, Central Identification Laboratory, Chair of the OSAC Anthropology Subcommittee

Gerald McGwin, Jr., M.D., University of Alabama at Birmingham

Keith Pinckard, M.D., Travis County Medical Examiner's Office, Chair of the OSAC Medicolegal Death Investigation


Created July 9, 2014, Updated April 6, 2020