Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Baldrige Training Programs Honored Among Best Continuing Education in Human Resources, Leadership, and Organizational Development

For several years in a row, the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program has been recognized for its leadership development programs, and 2017 is no different.

The program and its training offerings—Baldrige examiner training and the Baldrige Executive Fellows Program—have been honored with LEAD awards for being among the very best U.S. and global continuing education programs in their eligibility categories. The LEAD Awards, highlighted in Leadership Excellence Essentials magazine and presented by, recognize and honor corporations, educational institutions, and individuals that excel in offering top leadership initiatives and programs on a local to global scale. Baldrige is the only state or Federal government program to be recognized within its LEAD award categories.

Baldrige examiner training, including the Baldrige Examiner Training Experience; the Baldrige Executive Fellows Program, which focuses on executive leadership development using the Baldrige Excellence Framework and its Criteria; and the Baldrige Program itself were honored in the top 10 and often in the top two or three in all of the categories in which they were eligible. Baldrige Examiner Training was ranked first in its category above numerous leading universities.

In 2017, the LEAD Awards, which have been given out for more than 30 years, covered more than 30 education-based categories, including master’s and PhD programs, custom content continuing education programs, and mentoring and first-time manager programs. The judges used web sites and customer rankings to make their determinations.

Over the past several years, as the LEAD categories have changed, the Baldrige Program has continued to be recognized; for example, in 2015, it received the first-place award in the government and military category; in 2016, it placed seventh among all education organizations, including U.S. colleges and universities considered in the honor; and since 2010, it has placed four times in the top 10 of the government/military rankings. 

The Baldrige Program raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence and cybersecurity in driving the U.S. and global economy; provides organizational assessment tools and criteria; educates leaders in businesses, schools, health care organizations, and government and nonprofit organizations about the practices of national role models; and recognizes those role models with the Baldrige Award.

For more about the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, call (301) 975-2036 or email baldrige [at] (baldrige[at]nist[dot]gov).

Released February 9, 2017