Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

OSAC Public Update & Open Discussions Meeting

The Organization of Scientific Area Committees for Forensic Science (OSAC)  Public Update & Open Discussion meeting was held on June 5, 2019 at NIST in Gaithersburg, MD.  

The OSAC works to strengthen the nation’s use of forensic science by facilitating the development of scientifically sound forensic science standards and by promoting the adoption of those standards by the forensic science community. OSAC has over 550 members and 250 affiliates that work together to develop and evaluate forensic science standards via a transparent, consensus-based process that allows for participation and comment by all stakeholders.
This event featured presentations from the Chairs of the five Scientific Area Committees (SAC), three Resource Committees, the Statistics Task Group, and Forensic Science Standards Board (FSSB).  Each presenter described their OSAC unit’s activities including the latest standards under development, research gaps that have been identified, challenges that are being addressed, and priorities for the year.  Attendees were also offered the opportunity to ask questions and provide feedback.

Please enjoy this recording which contains the presentations and audience questions from the event. 

Slides from the individual presenters are available under the agenda section below.   


8:45 AM:    Forensic Science Standards Board (FSSB)
Steve Johnson, Chair, FSSB
9:00 AM:    Human Factors Committee
William Thompson, Chair
9:20 AM:    Legal Resource Committee
Chris Plourd, Chair
9:40 AM:    
Quality Infrastructure Committee
Karin Athanas, Chair

10:00 AM:    Statistics Task Group Update
Will Guthrie, Chair 

10:20 AM:    Q&A – BREAK

10:30 AM:    Digital/Multimedia Scientific Area Committees (SAC)
Richard Vorder Bruegge, Chair, Digital/Multimedia SAC
(including activities from Digital Evidence, Facial Identification, Speaker Recognition, and Video/Imaging Technology and Analysis Subcommittees)

11:15 AM:    Physics/Pattern Interpretation Scientific Area Committees (SAC)
Melissa Gische, Chair, Physics/Pattern Interpretation SAC
(including activities from the Bloodstain Pattern Analysis, Firearms and Toolmarks, Footwear and Tire, Forensic Document Examination, and Friction Ridge Subcommittees)

12:00 PM:        Q&A -- LUNCH BREAK

1:30 PM:   
Biology/DNA Scientific Area Committees (SAC)
Robyn Ragsdale, Chair, Biology/DNA SAC
(including activities from the Biological Methods, Biological Data Interpretation and Reporting, and the Wildlife Forensics Subcommittees)
2:15 PM:    Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis Scientific Area Committees (SAC)
Jose Almirall, Chair, Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis SAC
(including activities from the Fire Debris & Explosives, Geological Materials, Gunshot Residue, Materials (Trace), Seized Drugs, and Toxicology Subcommittees)

3:00 PM:    Crime Scene/Death Investigation Scientific Area Committees (SAC)
Greg Davis, Chair, Crime Scene/Death Investigation SAC
(including activities from the Anthropology, Crime Scene Investigation, Disaster Victim Identification, Dogs and Sensors, Fire and Explosion Investigation, Medicolegal Death Investigation, and Odontology Subcommittees)
3:45 PM:    
Karen Reczek, Ex-Officio, NIST  
4:00 PM:    Q&A SESSION

4:30 PM:    ADJOURN

If you are not registered, you will not be allowed on site.  Registered attendees will receive security and campus instructions prior to the workshop.

NON U.S. CITIZENS PLEASE NOTE:  All foreign national visitors who do not have permanent resident status and who wish to register for the above meeting must supply additional information. Failure to provide this information prior to arrival will results, at a minimum, in significant delays in entering the facility. Authority to gather this information is derived from United States Department of Commerce Department Administrative Order (DAO) number 207-12.

* New Visitor Access Requirement: Effective July 21, 2014, under the REAL ID Act of 2005, agencies, including NIST, can only accept a state-issued driver’s license or identification card from states that are REAL ID compliant or have an extension.  See the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) site for the current compliance list.

NIST currently accepts other forms of federally issued identification in lieu of a state-issued driver’s license, such as a valid passport, passport card, DOD’s Common Access Card (CAC), Veterans ID, Federal Agency HSPD-12 IDs, Military Dependents ID, Transportation Workers Identification Credential (TWIC), and TSA Trusted Traveler ID.

Created March 28, 2019, Updated September 13, 2023