Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

June 2016 VCAT Meeting Agenda

National Institute of Standards and Technology
Administration Building, Portrait Room
Gaithersburg, MD
June 7-8, 2016

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Session I: NIST Update & Safety

8:30 a.m. Call to Order
Rita Colwell, VCAT Chair
8:35 a.m. NIST Update and Agenda Review
Willie May, Director
9:05 a.m. Discussion
9:20 a.m. Safety Update
Richard Kayser, Chief Safety Officer
9:40 a.m. Discussion
9:50 a.m. Break
10:00 a.m. Updates on Major Programs


Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity – Kiersten Todt, Executive Director, Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity


Forensic Science – Rich Cavanagh, Director, Special Programs Office


National Network for Manufacturing Innovation – Mike Molnar, Director, Advanced Manufacturing Program Office

Session II: Achieving Balance in NIST Laboratory Programs

11:15 a.m.

Setting the Context
Kent Rochford, Associate Director of Laboratory Programs

11:45 a.m. Discussion
12:00 p.m. Lunch

1 p.m.

Stakeholder Perspectives
Bob Doering, Research Manager, Technology and Manufacturing Group, Texas Instruments

Andy McMillan, President and Managing Director, BACnet International

Roger Peniche, Director of Worldwide Engineering and Product Innovation, Fluke Calibration

Gail Wasserman, Senior Vice President, Biopharmaceutical Development, MedImmune

2:15 p.m.

Case Studies 

Smart Grid – Dave Wollman, Deputy Director, Smart Grid and Cyber-Physical Systems Program Office, Engineering Laboratory
Cybersecurity Framework – Kevin Stine, Chief, Applied Cybersecurity Division, Information Technology Laboratory
5G Wireless – Nada Golmie, Chief, Wireless Networks Division, Communications Technology Laboratory
3:45 p.m. Break
4:00 p.m.

Lab Director Panel

Jim Olthoff, Director, Physical Measurement Laboratory

Laurie Locascio, Director, Material Measurement Laboratory

Howard Harary, Director, Engineering Laboratory

Chuck Romine, Director, Information Technology Laboratory

5:30 p.m. Adjourn
June 8, 2016
Closed Session
Session III: National Strategic Computing Initiative
10:30 a.m. Call to Order
10:30 a.m.

Overview of NSCI and NIST's role
Carl Williams, Deputy Director, Physical Measurement Laboratory

11:15 a.m.


11:30 a.m. Wrap up and Next Steps
Rita Colwell
12:00 p.m. Public Comments
12:30 p.m. Adjourn


Created May 24, 2016, Updated September 9, 2021