Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Designation Requirements for Australia


The governments of the United States and Australia signed binding exchange letters to implement Phase I of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for the Conformity Assessment of Telecommunication Equipment (APEC Tel MRA)  on October 19, 2002.

The MRA between the US and Australia covers the recognition of testing laboratories and acceptance of test reports generated by those recognized labs.

Please note that formal recognition is optional.

Regulatory Authority

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is responsible for regulating telecommunications and radiocommunications, including industry self-regulation, and managing the radiofrequency spectrum. ACMA administers the Australian MRA program.

ACMA allows manufacturers to issue a Supplier's Declaration of Conformity for telecom and EMC requirements.

ACMA requires that test reports for products assigned the highest conformity level of 3 be from test lab that is accredited by ILAC signatory ABs. All current NIST Listed ABs are ILAC signatories.

US test labs are not required to obtain formal ACMA recognition for test reports to be accepted for regulatory purposes.  Formal recognition is optional.   However, test labs that obtain the formal recognition are included on a public list on ACMA’s website and can be viewed by suppliers.  To access the list, select this link and search for ‘Overseas CABs’.

Scope of Accreditation Format Requirements

ACMA will recognize NIST-designated ISO/IEC 17025 accredited testing laboratories that have applicable standards included on their Scope of Accreditation.  Where the ACMA list of standards available for recognition includes version and/or year information, the Scope of Accreditation must include the relevant current version of the standard, the year and, if applicable, the amendment number.   

Standards Available for (Optional) Recognition

Standards available for recognition may be found at this web address.

Technical Area

Additional Information


Scope of Accreditation: Please list the full name (including date) of the ACMA standard and the industry standard referenced in the ACMA standard.     


  • Radiocommunications (Short Range Devices) Standard 2014
  • AS/NZS 4268:2017

To obtain recognition for Radiocommunications (Short Range Devices) Standard 2014  (April 2021 or later), the CAB must also be accredited for the six (6) test methods embedded in the standard under Section 8 (2), (a-f).

  • Alternatively ACMA can recognize a lab for any of the accredited test methods listed Section 8 (2), (a-e).


Scope of Accreditation: Please list the full name (including date) of the ACMA standard and the industry standard referenced in the ACMA standard.  


  • Telecommunications Disability Standard (Requirements for Customer Equipment for use with the Standard Telephone Service - Features for special needs of persons with disabilities - AS/ACIF S040) 2015
  • AS/ACIF S040:2001

Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC)

Standards available for designation are listed in Serial 3, Serial 7, and Serial 54 under Part 2 of this document.  See page 1 for guidance on expiration date and transition periods.

Electromagnetic Energy (EME)

The listed standards are available for recognition:

General CAB Requirements

The CAB must meet the following requirements:

 Application Documents & Process

The CAB shall submit the following documents to NIST electronically at mra [at]

Once NIST has reviewed the application and confirmed its completeness, NIST will forward a designation request to ACMA, who, under the terms of the MRA, has up to 60 days to respond to NIST. 

About the APEC TEL MRA

The initial signing of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunications Equipment (APEC Tel MRA) took place on May 8, 1998.  Participation in the APEC Tel MRA is voluntary and includes two phases: Phase I for mutual acceptance of test reports and Phase II for certification or product approvals.  The United States has implemented the APEC Tel MRA with many countries and more are forthcoming.

For Further Information

For questions about the US-Australia MRA, please contact the NIST Telecom MRA Program via mra [at]

Content last revised on December 20, 2021


Created April 4, 2017, Updated April 5, 2022