Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

History and Governance of the NIST Child Care Center

The NIST Child Care Center (NIST CCC) is operated as a non-profit organization that provides a service for children of employees affiliated with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Gaithersburg, Maryland. We expanded our service to children of Federal employees (non-NIST) in 2004.

The NIST CCC has been in operation, and licensed by the Maryland State Department of Education, Office of Child Care, since September 1983. The Center's full-day kindergarten program, established in 1995, is approved as a non-public school by the Maryland State Department of Education.

The CCC is an independent organization that operates on NIST's campus through a Memorandum of Agreement between NIST management and the NIST Child Care Association (CCA). NIST management is not involved in the Child Care Association nor the policies and practices of the CCC, its staff and the Association's Board of Directors.


The policies of the NIST CCC are governed by the NIST Child Care Association (CCA) Board of Directors. The CCA is the business entity that manages the non-profit affairs of the Child Care Center. The by-laws of the organization govern the membership activities and the responsibilities of the Board Directors.

The NIST CCA Board of Directors consists of a minimum of eight elected members, an accounts bookkeeper, a NIST Liaison, and the NIST CCC Director. Elected board members serve a 2-year term, with elections for four seats on the board being held every year.

Current Members*

PresidentMichael Berilla301-975-2441
Vice PresidentShannon Hoogerheide301-975-8582
SecretaryBryan Remley301-975-6258
TreasurerTony Nocito301-684-8669
Personnel OfficerTarrelle Ingram931-216-0648
Fundraising OfficerMolly Maier484-459-1405
Member-at-LargeMeghan Burke Harris 
Member-at-LargeClara Satria 
BookkeeperLeslie Barkley301-696-8333
DirectorAbrial Shivers (Acting)301-975-8898

(*2023-2024 year)

Created August 10, 2009, Updated June 6, 2024