Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

APTM Agenda

APT&M Program and IFES Events

Complete Program (Printable PDF)

Sunday, June 10: (Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg)

Note – Buses will not be running on Sunday, June 10. Attendees will need to rely on hotel shuttles or other means of transportation.

1:30 pm – 2:30 pm          Avizo Software Tutorial

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm          Spatial Reconstruction Tutorial

5:00 pm – 7:00 pm          Opening Reception

Monday, June 11 -(NIST, Bldg. 101)

7:00 am – 9:00 am          Arrival

9:00 am – 9:30 am          Welcome – Opening Remarks

9:30 am – 10:15 am        Plenary Speaker (Peter Ercius)

10:45 am – 11:30 am      J. H. Block Lecture (David Saxey)

 1:00 pm – 1:15 pm          IFES President – Afternoon Remarks

1:15 pm – 2:00 pm         Erwin W. Müller Memorial Lecture (John A. Panitz)

 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm          E. W. Müller Young Scientist Award Competition

 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm          Poster Session 1

 5:45 pm – 7:00 pm          Departure

Tuesday, June 12: (NIST, Bldg. 101)

7:00 am – 8:45 am          Arrival

8:45 am – 9:30 am           Plenary Speaker (Henry Kapteyn)          

10:00 am – 5:15 pm        Technical Sessions

  • Ceramics, Geological, and Glass Materials
  • Correlative and Combined Methods
  • Laser-Matter Interactions
  • Measurement Science Workshop
  • Semiconductors, Micro- and Opto- Electronic Devices
  •  Sparse Data Sampling Overview

 4:15 pm – 5:00 pm          IVAS 101 Tutorial

5:00 pm – 6:00 pm          Poster Session 2

 5:10 pm - 6:10 pm          IVAS tutorial - 3D Reconstruction of Semiconductor Devices

 5:45 pm – 7:00 pm          Departure

Wednesday, June 13: (NIST, Bldg. 101)

7:00 am – 8:45 am          Arrival

8:45 am – 9:30 pm          Plenary Speaker (Christoph Freysoldt)

10:00 am – 5:15 pm        Technical Sessions

  • High Entropy Alloys and High Cr Steels   
  • Instrument and Technique Development
  • Organic, Biological, Liquid, and Composite Materials
  • Quantification in Atom Probe Tomography
  • Theory, Simulations, and Modeling

4:15 pm – 5:00 pm          IVAS 101 Tutorial

5:10 pm – 6:10 pm          IVAS tutorial – Approaching Perfection in Atomic Positioning

5:15 pm – 6:00 pm          IFES Business Meeting

6:00 pm – 7:00 pm          Departure

Thursday, June 14: (NIST, Bldg. 101)

7:00 am – 8:45 am          Arrival

8:45 am – 9:30 pm           Plenary Speaker (Weng-Keen Wong)

 10:00 am – 5:00 pm        Technical Sessions

  • High-field Nanoscience, Surface Science, and Field Ion
  • Microscopy                                      
  • Metallurgy and Phase Transformations
  • Open Software Workshop
  • Reconstruction Methods and Data Treatment
  •  Specimen Preparation, In-situ Specimen Treatment, and Novel
  • Applications

 5:00 pm – 6:15 pm          Departure

7:00 pm – 9:00 pm          Awards Banquet (Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg)

                                               Guest Speaker (Sarah Hörst)

Friday, June 15: (Multiple Locations, Washington DC)

Off-site Technical Tours:

  • Buses will be departing from, and returning to, the two conference hotels, pick-up/drop-off times to be determined.
  • Valid photo ID required – see security instructions on APT&M 2018 website

T.B.D.                                  Depart Gaithersburg       

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm        National Museum of Natural History Meteorite Collection

12:30 pm – 1:30 pm        National Gallery of Art Conservation Laboratory

12:30 pm – 2:00 pm        National Air and Space Museum – Smithsonian Institution

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm        Library of Congress Preservation Research and Testing Laboratory

T.B.D.                                  Depart Washington DC


Topic Area and Session Chairs

  • E. W. Müller Young Scientist Award Competition
    Chair: Francois Vurpillot (Université de Rouen)
  • Correlative and Combined Methods 
    Chair: Michael Herbig (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH), Arun Deveraj (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory), Joe Bennett (National Institute of Standards & Technology)
  • Reconstruction Methods and Data Treatment
    Chair: Anna Cegeurra (The University of Sydney), Peter Felfer (Friedrich-Alexander Universität), Andrew Breen (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung)
  • Instrument and Technique Development
    Chair: Tom Kelly (CAMECA, Inc.), Stephan Gerstl (ETH Zürich/ScopeM)
  • Metallurgy and Phase Transformations / High Entropy Alloys and High Cr Steels
    Chair: Goro Miyamoto (Tohoku University), Yongjie Zhang (Tohoku University), Rajarshi Banerjee (University of North Texas), Talukder Alam (University of North Texas)
  • Semiconductors, Micro- and Opto-Electronic devices
    Chair: Baishakhi Mazumder (The State University of New York - Buffalo), Jonathan Poplawsky (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), Bastien Bonef (University of California Santa Barbara)
  • Ceramics, Geological Materials, and Glasses
    Chair: Daniel Schreiber (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory), Brian Langelier (McMaster University), David Saxey (Curtin University)
  • Organic, Biological, Liquid, and Composite Materials
    Chair: Derk Joester (Northwestern University), Karen DeRocher and Robert Free (Northwestern University)
  • High Field Nanoscience, Surface Science, and Field Ion Microscopy
    Chair: Thierry Visart de Bocarme (Universite Libre De Bruxelles)
  • Laser-matter Interactions
    Chair: Angela Vella (Université de Rouen), Yu Xia (Sun Yat-sen University), Janusz Bogdanowicz (IMEC)
  • Theory, Simulations, and Modeling
    Chair: Christian Oberdorfer (The Ohio State University) and Stefan Parviainen (Université et INSA de Rouen)
  • Quantification in Atom Probe - Accuracy, Precision, Uncertainty, quantification of dopants, trace elements, hydrogen, and impurities.
    Chair: Daniel Haley (University of Oxford), Ivan Povstugar (Forschungszentrum Jülich), Andrew London (United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority)
  • Specimen Preparation, In Situ Specimen Treatment, and Novel Applications
    Chair: Daniel Perea (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory) and Paul Bagot (University of Oxford)


Created July 26, 2017, Updated May 29, 2018