Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST Standards Services Curricula Development Cooperative Agreement Program

Enriching college curricula to raise awareness of the role of standards and standardization in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM), and law, public policy, business, and other related or multi-disciplinary fields.

How To Apply
Awardees 2012-2020
News Items

The Notice of Federal Funding Opportunity (NOFO) announcing the FY21 Program was released on March 31; the deadline for proposals is June 1, 2021.

Eligible applicants may apply for awards of up to $75,000 to integrate standards education into undergraduate or graduate-level courses. Funding is awarded in an open, competitive process. 


The Standards Coordination Office (SCO) Standards Services introduced the “Education Challenge Grants” program in Fiscal Year (FY) 2012. The program began with a budget of $150,000; six small grants were awarded to launch the program, supporting the development of new learning resources and course modules integrating standards into the formal curriculum in business and engineering programs.  The following year, the program was changed from a grant program to a cooperative agreement program, allowing SCO to work more closely with award recipients and to provide greater support to strengthen education and learning about standards and standardization.

The number of awards given fluctuates each year based on various factors such as the number of proposals received and funding available. The evaluation criteria have evolved as NIST continues to improve the program each year, but the essential goal has remained the same—support for standards education at US colleges and universities. 

Program Criteria

Applicants are evaluated on their ability to meet criteria in four major categories:

  • Technical project approach and methodology;
  • Communication plan;
  • Staffing; and
  • Resources availability.


Created May 16, 2016, Updated March 31, 2021