Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

US Test Report Acceptance - Malaysia


On June 28, 2016, the governments of United States and Malaysia signed exchange letters to implement Phase I of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for the Conformity Assessment of Telecommunication Equipment (APEC Tel MRA ). 

The MRA between the US and Malaysia covers the acceptance of test reports only (Phase I).

Telecom Regulator

The telecom regulator of Malaysia is the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), also known as the Suruhanjaya Komunikasi Dan Multimedia Malaysia (SKMM).

Certifying Agency

Telecommunications products placed on the market in Malaysia must obtain a type approval/certification through the single government appointed Certifying Agency (CA), SIRIM QAS International.

Acceptance of Test Reports

US test labs do not need formal designation and recognition to have test reports accepted by SIRIM QAS International but must be accredited by a NIST Listed Accreditation Body (AB) for one or more test methods listed in the MCMC Chart of Test Methods(dated September 20, 2019).  

Note:  All NIST Listed ABs are ILAC Signatory ABs.  For further information, please reference page 7 of the following document, Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Communication Equipment Certification, under Q12 e.   

Scope of Accreditation Format

The ISO/IEC 17025 Scope of Accreditation must include the following

  1. The relevant test methods noted in the MCMC Chart of Test Methods 
  2. The Technical Specification Reference Number (with any exclusions noted)  

Importers/ manufacturers must comply with the Technical Specifications to obtain certification of communications equipment under the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Act 1998.

About the APEC TEL MRA

The initial signing of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunications Equipment (APEC Tel MRA) took place on May 8, 1998.  Participation in the APEC Tel MRA is voluntary and includes two phases: Phase I for mutual acceptance of test reports and Phase II for certification or product approvals.

The United States has implemented the APEC Tel MRA with many countries and more are forthcoming.

 Additional Resources

Technical specifications  Please select the entry titled Technical Regulation – Register of Technical Codes.

Certifying Agency, SIRIM QAS International:

SIRIM QAS International Type Approval Application Portal, eComM:  Type Approval applications are submitted to SIRIM through this online portal. The system guides  applicants on what documents are required. 

Additional Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the communications equipment certification process:

For questions about the US-Malaysia MRA, please contact the NIST Telecom MRA Program via  mra [at] (mra[at]nist[dot]gov).


Content last revised on September 26, 2019





Created June 21, 2017, Updated November 15, 2019