Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST Designation Requirements

Requirements for NIST Designation of U.S. Conformity Assessment Bodies

NIST, through the Telecom MRA program office (mra [at] (mra[at]nist[dot]gov)), designates qualified U.S accredited conformity assessment bodies (CABs) to telecom regulatory authorities for specific conformity assessment activities.    

The regulatory authority or other responsible party issues a formal recognition for qualified CABs and then accepts the CAB’s relevant conformity assessment results in accordance with (1) the scope of conformity assessment activities covered by the CAB’s recognition and (2) the economy’s regulatory scheme.  

The administrative and technical requirements for each economy, and the NIST designation application instructions can be viewed by selecting the link in the second column of TABLE 1.     

TABLE 1:  List of Economies & Designation Requirements


Regulatory Authority/Responsible Party*

  Designation Requirements

Additional Information   

 Designation of TCBs to the Federal Communications Commission

United States


Federal Communication Commission (FCC)

Telecommunication Certification Bodies (TCBs)

NIST designates qualified accredited U.S. TCBs to the FCC.

The process of FCC testing laboratory recognition is not administered by NIST.  Refer to the FCC Accredited Testing Laboratory Program Roles and Responsibilities Document and contact an FCC-Recognized U.S. Accreditation Body.

 Designation of NBs to the European Commission

European Union 


European Commission (EC)* on behalf of the regulatory authorities of the Member States.

Notified Bodies (NBs)

EMC Directive (EMCD)

Radio Equipment Directive (RED)

Designation of Labs and CBs to Foreign MRA Partners



Australian Communication and Media Authority (ACMA)

Testing Laboratories




Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)

Testing Laboratories & Certification Bodies


Chinese Taipei


Bureau of Standards, Metrology and Inspection (BSMI)

Testing Laboratories


National Communications Commission (NCC)

Testing Laboratories


Hong Kong


Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA)

Testing Laboratories & Certification Bodies




Ministry of Communications (MOC)

Ministry of Economy (MoE)

Testing Laboratories





Testing Laboratories 

The VCCI registration process is not administered by NIST.

Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications (MIC)

Certification Bodies




National Radio Research Agency (RRA)

Testing Laboratories




Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC)

Testing Laboratories

NIST Designation and MCMC Recognition not required



Federal Institute of Telecommunications (IFT)

Testing Laboratories

IFT recognition is only available for 3rd Party Testing Laboratories.

New Zealand


Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment (MBIE) 

Testing Laboratories  

NIST Designation and MBIE Recognition not required



Office of Communications Authority (OFCA)

Testing Laboratories & Certification Bodies




Ministry of Information and Communication (MIC)

Testing Laboratories



FINAL  February 24, 2017


Created February 24, 2017, Updated November 15, 2019