Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



The Inter-American Telecommunication Commission Mutual Recognition Agreement for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunications Equipment (CITEL MRA) was signed by the Organization of American States on October 29, 1999.

There are 34 countries eligible to participate in the agreement, which is very similar to the APEC Tel MRA. The CITEL MRA is also voluntary and can be implemented in two phases. The OAS Member States are actively working on implementing the CITEL MRA. Within CITEL, the Permanent Consultative Committee (PCC.1) for Technical Standardization meets twice a year to discuss implementation.

CITEL MRA Resources

+ Full text of the CITEL Mutual Recognition Agreement

+ CITEL Permanent Consultative Committee I - Telecommunication Standardization

+ Related Websites


Created April 26, 2017, Updated November 15, 2019