Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NVCASE Program Handbook: Procedures for Obtaining NIST Recognition as an Accreditor



J S. Dhillon, David F. Alderman


This document provides detailed information regarding the NVCASE evaluation requirements leading to an organization obtaining NIST recognition as an authorized accreditation body under provisions of certain other agency programs or specified Mutual Recognition Agreements (MRAs) with other countries or geographic areas. the National Voluntary Conformity Assessment Systems Evaluation Program (NVCASE) covers recognition of three basic types of accreditors: 1) Laboratory accreditors, 2) product certifier accreditors, and 3) quality system registrar accreditors. This document describes procedures for application, evaluation process and criteria, program actions, obligations of recognized accreditors and references to specific sectoral criteria. It provides specificity to the NVCASE Rules found at 15 CFR Part 286.
NIST Interagency/Internal Report (NISTIR) - 6440
Report Number


accreditation, assessment, audit, certification, evaluation, laboratory, NVCASE, quality system, registrar


Dhillon, J. and Alderman, D. (1999), NVCASE Program Handbook: Procedures for Obtaining NIST Recognition as an Accreditor, NIST Interagency/Internal Report (NISTIR), National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD (Accessed June 19, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created December 1, 1999, Updated October 16, 2008