Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Observed Interstellar Molecular Microwave Transitions, Table 3

Table 3. List of Telescope Abbreviations employed in Table 4

Abbreviation Location
ARO 46 m Algonquin Radio Observatory
Lake Traverse
Ontario, Canada
ARO 12 m Arizona Radio Observatory (prior NRAO 12m)
University of Arizona
Tuscon, AZX 85721
ARO SMT 10 m Arizona Radio Observatory Submillimeter Telescope
Mount Graham, AZ
APEX 12 m Atacama Pathfinder Experiment
Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie
European Southern Observatory
Onsala Space Observatory
Llano de Chanjnantor, Chile
Arecibo 350 m Arecibo Observatory
Puerto Rico
ATCA Array Australia Telescope Compact Array
Australia Telescope National Facility
Narabi, Australia
BIMA Array Berkeley-Illinois-Maryland Association Array
Hat Creek Radio Observatory
Hat Creek, California
BTL 7 m Bell Telephone Laboratory
Holmdel, New Jersey
CAdY 13.7 m Centro Astromico de Yebes
Guadalajara, Spain
CARMA Array Combined Array for Research in Millimeter-Wave Astronomy
Cedar Flat, CA
CSO 10.4 m Caltech Submillimeter Observatory
Mauna Kea, Hawaii
FCRAO 14 m Five College Radio Astronomy Observatory
Quabbin Reservoir, Massachusetts
Hale 5 m Hale Telescope
Mount Palomar, California
HHT 10 m Heinrich Hertz Telescope
Mt. Graham, Arizona
IRAM 30 m Institut de Radioastronomie Millimétrique
Picoveleta, Spain
IRT 13.7 m Itapetinga Radio Telescope
Sao Paulo, Brazil
IRTF 3 m Infrared Telescope Facility
Mauna Kea, Hawaii
ISO 0.6 m Infrared Space Observatory
European Space Agency
ISO-LWS ISO Satellite Long Wavelength Spectrometer
The European Space Agency Infrared Soave Telescope 1995-1998
JCMT 15 m James Clerk Maxwell Telescope
Mauna Kea, Hawaii
KAO 1 m G.P. Kuiper Airborne Observatory
KOSMA 3 m Kölner Observatorium für Submm-Astronomie
Gornergrat, Switzerland
MMWO 4.9 m McDonald Millimeter Wave Observatory
Fort Davis, Texas
MPI 100 m Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie
Effelsberg, Germany
NASA-C 70 m NASA Canberra Deep Space Communications Complex
NASA DSN 70 m NASA Goldstone Deep Space Network Telescope
Goldstone, California
NEROC 37 m Northeast Radio Observatory Corporation
Haystack Observatory
Westford, Massachusetts
NMA Array Nobeyama Millimeter Array
University of Tokyo
Nobeyama, Japan
NRAO 11 m & 12 m National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Kitt Peak, Arizona
(now the ARO 12m)
NRAO 43 m (140 ft) National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Green Bank, West Virginia
NRAO 100 m (140 ft) Green Bank Telescope
National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Green Bank, West Virginia
NRL 26 m (85 ft) Naval Research Laboratory
Maryland Point Observatory, Maryland
NRO 45 m Nobeyama Radio Observatory
University of Tokyo
Nobeyama, Japan
Odin Odin Satellite
Swedish Space Corporation, Sweden
OSO 20 m Onsala Space Observatory
Onsala, Sweden
OSO 25.6 m Onsala Space Observatory
Onsala, Sweden
OVRO 10.4 m Owens Valley Radio Observatory
Owens Valley, California
Parkes 64 m Division of Radiophysics CSIRO
Parkes, Australia
PdBI Array IRAM interferometer on Plateau De Bure
Département des Hautes Alpes, France
PIROG7 60 cm PIROG7 balloon experiment
European Space Agency
SEST 15 m Swedish ESO Submillimeter Telescope
LaSilla, Chile
SMA Array Submillimeter Array
Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and
Academia Sinica Inst. of Astronomy and Astrophysics
SRCAL 25 m SRC Appleton Laboratory
Chilbolton Observatory
Stockbridge, Hants, England
TAO 6 m Tokyo Astronomical Observatory
Tokyo, Japan
TRAO 14 m Taeduk Radio Astronomy Observatory
Korea Astronomy Observatory
Whaam, Yusong, Taejon 305-348, Korea
UKIRT 3.8 m UK Infrared Telescope
Mauna Kea, Hawaii
VLA Very Large Array
National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Socorro, New Mexico


Sensor Science Division

Created June 13, 2018, Updated November 15, 2019