Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Bala Muralikrishnan (Fed)

Dr. Muralikrishnan is a mechanical engineer in the Dimensional Metrology Group in the Sensor Science Division of the Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML) at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). His research is focused on modelling and detecting errors in advanced dimensional measurement systems such as laser trackers, terrestrial laser scanners, and X-ray CT systems. These mathematical models serve as the scientific and foundational basis for documentary standards for performance evaluation of these systems. Dr. Muralikrishnan is currently the chair of the ASME B89.4.19 committee involved in the revision of the laser tracker standard, participates in the development of ASME and ISO standards for X-ray CT systems, and served as the technical lead for the ASTM E3125-17 standards effort for terrestrial laser scanners. Dr. Muralikrishnan is on the editorial board of Surface Topography and Remote Sensing. He also served on the editorial board of Precision Engineering and as a guest editor for a special issue on terrestrial laser scanners for Sensors.



  • Arthur S Flemming Award, 2021, for seminal research in precision dimensional metrology, which is accelerating the adoption of next-generation coordinate scanning technologies 
  • Judson C French Award, NIST, 2021, for initiative and technical innovation in creating a cutting-edge photometry laboratory, enabling NIST to offer best-in-the-world solid-state lighting and photometer measurement services
  • ASTM James A Thomas President’s Leadership Award, 2020, for significant contributions, successful leadership of a major new activity and unusually productive service ASTM committee work
  • Edward Bennet Rosa Award, NIST, 2018, for outstanding leadership and technical excellence in initiating and developing performance test methods that have been adopted as international standards for 3D imaging systems
  • Outstanding Paper Award, Measurement Science and Technology 2017, for publication on laser scanner error model parameter determination
  • Kuo K. Wang Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award by the Society for Manufacturing Engineers, 2007


Created October 9, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022