Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Andrew C. Wilson (Fed)

Chief of the Quantum Physics Division

Dr. Andrew Wilson is the Chief of the NIST Quantum Physics Division and the lead for the quantum information science program at NIST. He is based at JILA, the joint institute of NIST and the University of Colorado Boulder. Dr. Wilson is also the NIST Program Official for the Quantum Economic Development Consortium (QED-C), working to enable and grow the US quantum industry. He represents NIST on the QED-C Steering Committee. Dr. Wilson is engaged in interagency activities that provide US government support for quantum information science and technology with transformative potential.

Previously, Dr. Wilson was a NIST staff Physicist and project leader in the Ion Storage Group of the NIST Time & Frequency Division. He performed quantum-information experiments on high-fidelity coherent control of atomic ions to explore applications of quantum entanglement including quantum logic and computing, quantum simulation, and quantum-enhanced precision measurement. A major emphasis of the group’s research is the development of techniques and tools that will be needed for large-scale, fault-tolerant, quantum-information processors. Before working with trapped ions at NIST, Dr. Wilson’s research focused on Bose-Einstein condensates, quantum degenerate Fermi gases, and precision laser spectroscopy of neutral atoms and molecules.

Dr. Wilson completed his PhD in AMO Physics at the University of Otago (NZ) in 1993, he was a postdoc in the Clarendon Laboratory at the University of Oxford (UK), and then a faculty member in the Physics Department at the University of Otago. He joined NIST in 2010.



High-fidelity laser-free universal control of trapped ion qubits

Raghavendra Srinivas, Emanuel Knill, Robert Sutherland, Alexander T. Kwiatkowski, Hannah M. Knaack, Scott Glancy, David J. Wineland, Shaun C. Burd, Dietrich Leibfried, Andrew C. Wilson, David T. Allcock, Daniel Slichter
Universal control of multiple qubits—the ability to entangle qubits and to perform arbitrary individual qubit operations—is a fundamental resource for quantum

Quantum amplification of boson-mediated interactions

Shaun C. Burd, Raghavendra Srinivas, Hannah M. Knaack, Wenchao Ge, Andrew C. Wilson, David J. Wineland, Dietrich Leibfried, John J. Bollinger, David T. Allcock, Daniel Slichter
Strong and precisely controlled interactions between quantum objects are essential for quantum information processing\citeSackett2000,Majer2007}, simulation

Ion transport and reordering in a two-dimensional trap array

Yong Wan, Robert Jordens, Stephen Erickson, Jenny Wu, Ryan S. Bowler, Ting R. Tan, Panyu Hou, Andrew C. Wilson, Dietrich Leibfried
Scaling quantum information processors is a challenging task, requiring manipulation of a large number of qubits with high fidelity and a high degree of
Created October 9, 2019, Updated August 1, 2023