Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2018 Applications for the Standards Curricula Development Cooperative Agreement Program

Deadline for applications: Monday, April 16, 2018

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) plans to award funding for cooperative agreements for curricula development that will educate students about the impact, nature and value of standards and standardization so they develop a strong understanding and appreciation for the role of standards in the domestic and global marketplace.  

By providing specifications that ensure the reliability and interoperability of products and services, standards help to ensure their safety and reliability and to facilitate commerce. NIST plays a key role in the development of standards in the United States by working with industry and standards development organizations to provide the technical and scientific underpinnings that support sound standards.

The NIST Standards Services Curricula Development Cooperative Agreement Program is designed to help integrate standards and standardization content into undergraduate and graduate programs at U.S. colleges and universities. Since the program’s inception in 2012, 31 awards have been made.

Awardees have developed curricula that cover a wide range of topics, including various science and engineering disciplines, as well as business, public policy, and law. In fiscal year 2018, NIST may fund up to eight projects of $25,000 to $75,000 each, for up to 24 months.

Accredited institutions of higher education in the U.S. or its territories are eligible, as are other organizations that are partnered with an accredited institution. Applicants are evaluated on their ability to meet criteria in four major categories: technical project approach and methodology; communication plan; staffing; and resource availability.

Applications must be submitted through no later than 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time, Monday, April 16, 2018.

Contact: NIST, Standards Coordination Office, SSCD CAP: sscdcap [at] (sscdcap[at]nist[dot]gov)



Created February 21, 2018, Updated November 12, 2021