Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Digital NIST Workshop

NIST will hold a virtual workshop with its stakeholders on September 28-29, 2022, to discuss its efforts to digitally transform NIST's measurement services. Earlier this year, NIST developed a pilot project called Digital NIST to create examples of digital calibration reports and certificate of analysis for Reference Materials. These digital deliverables will be machine readable and enable the FAIR principles of data: Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable. We are seeking input from the stakeholders and customers of NIST measurement services on this effort and, more broadly, the role of NIST in the digital transformation of metrology.  

Developing topics and breakout sessions include the following:

  • Summary of Digital NIST pilot project and its progress
  • International view and stakeholder perspectives on digital transformation
  • XML Schema for Digital Calibration Certificates (DCC)
  • Practical considerations for the end user of digital reports and certificates, including modes of delivery, applications or digital data, and digital security
  • Digital traceability
  • Harmonization of international standards and interoperability of units

Digital NIST Workshop Agenda 

Day 1, Wednesday September 28, 2022 10:30 AM – 3:40 PM EDT 
(9:30 AM – 2:40 PM CDT; 8:30 AM – 1:40 PM MDT; 7:30 AM – 12:40 PM PDT; 14:30 to 19:40 UTC) 

 

Start time 

Duration 

Title 

Speaker 

Organization 

Introductions 

10:30 AM 

 

5 min 

Call to order 

Jim Fedchak and Kate Rimmer 

NIST 

10:35 AM 

10 min 

Welcome 

NIST Leadership 

NIST 

Digital in the World 

10:45 AM 

15 min 

CIPM View of the Digital SI 

Alan Steele 

NRC 

11:00 AM 

10 min 

Digitalization and Legal Metrology: Implications for Manufacturers and State Agencies 

Katya Delak 

NIST 

11:10 AM 

15 min 

Digital Transformation in the SIM Region. First Steps, Achievements, and Challenges for the Future 

Diego Coppa 

INTI 

11:25 AM 

15 min 

The Digital Calibration Certificate (DCC) 

Siegfried Hackel 

PTB 

11:40 AM 

15 min 

Units Representations in digital certificates 

Stuart Chalk 

U. North Florida 

11:55 AM 

10 min 

Q&A 

 

 

12:05 PM 

25 min 

Break 

 

 

Perspectives on Digital Transformation 

12:30 PM 

10 min 

The Science Case for Going Digital: The Electron Microscopy Example 

June Lau 

NIST 

12:40 PM 

10 min 

Downstream Requirements From the Digital SI 

Jeffrey Gust 

Fluke 

12:50 PM 

10 min 

Navy Perspective on Metrology and Calibration Data Collection, Analytics, and Utilization 

Robert Fritzsche 

U.S. Navy 

1:00 PM 

10 min 

Q&A 

 

 

Applications for End-Users 

1:10 PM 

10 min 

How the DCC enables other digital services for the Pharmaceutical Industry 

Antonio Matamala 

Beamex 

1:20 PM 

10 min 

Creating the Future of Analytical Testing with Digital Reference Materials 

Coralie Leonard 

Millipore Sigma 

1:30 PM 

10 min 

Q&A 

 

 

1:40 PM 

10 min 

Break 

 

 

The Digital NIST Pilot Project 

1:50 PM 

10 min 

An Overview of the Digital NIST Pilot Project and Modernization of NIST’s Measurement Services 

Bob Hanisch 

NIST 

2:00 PM 

20 min 

Intro to Calibration project at NIST 

Jim Fedchak 

NIST 

2:20 PM 

20 min 

Intro to reference materials project at NIST 

Dinis Camara 

NIST 

2:40 PM 

30 min 

Digital Calibration Report and Digital Reference Material Certificate Demo 

Benjamin Long 

NIST 

3:10 PM 

25 min 

Q&A 

 

 

3:35 PM 

5 min 

Wrap up, Discussion of Break-out Sessions and Program for Day 2 

Jim Fedchak and Kate Rimmer 

NIST 

Day 2, Thursday September 29, 2022 10:30 AM – 2:30 PM EDT 

(9:30 AM – 1:30 PM CDT; 8:30 AM – 12:30 PM MDT; 7:30 AM – 11:30 AM PDT; 14:30 to 18:30 UTC) 

 

Start Time 

(EDT) 

Duration 

Discussion Sessions 

10:30 AM 

5 min 

Day 2 Intro 

Day 2 Intro 

Day 2 Intro 

Day 2 Intro 

Session 1 

10:35 AM  

 

90 min 

Calibrations 
- Digital  
   Reports 
- Middleware 

 

 

Breakout 1 

Calibrations 
- Digital  
   Reports 
- Middleware 

 

 

Breakout 2 

RMs 
- Digital Certs 
- Use of the  
   Digital Info 
- Middleware 

 

Breakout 3 

RMs 
- Digital Certs 
- Use of the  
   Digital Info 
- Middleware 

 

Breakout 4 

12:05 PM 

15 min 

Break (Stay In Room) 

Session 2 

12:20 PM  

30 min 

Digital Traceability and Security & Legal Metrology 

 

Breakout 1 

Digital Traceability and Security & Legal Metrology 

 

Breakout 2 

Digital Traceability and Security & Legal Metrology 

 

Breakout 3 

Digital Traceability and Security & Legal Metrology 

 

Breakout 4 

12:50 PM 

15 min 

Break  (Stay In Room) 

Session 3 

1:05 PM  

30 min 

Harmonization of International Standards, Interoperability of Units 

 

Breakout 1 

Harmonization of International Standards, Interoperability of Units 

 

Breakout 2 

Harmonization of International Standards, Interoperability of Units 

 

Breakout 3 

Harmonization of International Standards, Interoperability of Units 

 

Breakout 4 

1:35 PM 

15 min 

Break (Switch Rooms) 

Session 4 

1:50 PM  

30 min 

Digital Government: Federal, Department of Defense, US National Labs  

 

 

 

 

Breakout 1 

Digital Reference Material Documentation: User & Producer 

 

 

 

 

Breakout 2 

Digital Industry: Secondary Cal Labs, Software Developers, Private Industry, and Manufacturers 

 

 

 

Breakout 3 

Digital International Metrology: 
NMIs, Legal Metrology Organizations, and International Partners 

 

Breakout 4 

2:20 PM  

10 min 

Wrap Up and Thanks 

Wrap Up and Thanks 

Wrap Up and Thanks 

Wrap Up and Thanks 

Created August 15, 2022, Updated September 21, 2022