Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2021 Virtual Portrait Gallery Ceremony

2021 NIST Portrait Gallery Honorees
2021 Portrait Gallery honorees (across): Herbert S. Bennett, Richard R. Cavanagh, Belinda L. Collins, Donna F. Dodson, Ernest L. Garner, K. Robert Glenn, Margaret C. Kline, W. Timothy Polk, Robert D. Shull
Credit: NIST

The 2021 Portrait Gallery Induction Ceremony will be held online on October 22 at 10:30 a.m. EDT and 8:30 a.m. MDT.

Nine former NIST employees will be honored for their contributions to NIST and the nation, and their portraits will be added to the NIST Gallery of Distinguished Scientists, Engineers and Administrators.

Standards Alumni Association President Harry Hertz will open the ceremony, and the NIST Director will give opening remarks.

Please join us online as we celebrate the following nine additions to the NIST Gallery of Distinguished Scientists, Engineers and Administrators:

2021 Portrait Gallery Honorees

Bennett, Herbert (Physical Measurement Laboratory, 1966-2015)

For pioneering solid-state theoretical models to predict nanoelectronic device behavior and for exceptional support of the semiconductor industry though both seminal research and leadership in international standards and technology roadmaps

Cavanagh, Richard (Organizational Development, 1979-2019)

For outstanding scientific contributions to time-resolved studies of molecular dynamics on surfaces and leadership of a broad range of NIST technical programs

Collins, Belinda (Information Technology Laboratory, 1974-2012)

For highly impactful contributions to human factors and engineering research in building technology and exceptional leadership nationally and internationally in voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment

Dodson, Donna (Information Technology Laboratory, 1987-1999; 2003-2020)

For exceptional technical acumen, extraordinary leadership, and worldwide impact while strengthening the nation’s cybersecurity posture

Garner, Ernest (Material Measurement Laboratory, 1958-2000)

For leadership in isotope ratio measurements of reference materials critical to the international nuclear safeguards effort and for contributions to the establishment of international quality standards for calibration and measurement laboratories

Glenn, K. Robert (Office of Information Systems Management, 1987-2020)

For establishing and managing the highly successful NIST-wide operational cybersecurity program, balancing risk and mission, enabling broad use of information technology, and protecting NIST computers, networks, data, and reputation against cybersecurity threats

Kline, Margaret (Material Measurement Laboratory, 1985-2020)

For outstanding contributions through the development of the NIST forensic DNA measurement and documentary standards program that has underpinned the U.S. DNA database used in more than half a million criminal investigations over the past two decades

Polk, W. Timothy (Information Technology Laboratory, 1982-2018)

For technical contributions and standards leadership to give the Internet much-needed security

Shull, Robert (Material Measurement Laboratory, 1979-2018)

For extraordinary creativity and innovation in fundamental research on magnetic materials and their industrial impacts, and his passion for service resulting in literally thousands of better educated STEM students


Created October 6, 2021, Updated October 28, 2021