Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

A. Thomas Young

Former Executive Vice President
Lockheed Martin Corporation (retired)

A. Thomas Young, since retired, was executive Vice President of Lockheed Martin Corporation headquartered in Bethesda, MD. Before assuming that position in March, 1995, Mr. Young was President and Chief Operating Officer of Martin Marietta Corporation. Earlier, he was a Senior Vice President of Martin Marietta Corporation and President of Martin Marietta Electronics & Missiles Group in Orlando, Florida. He joined Martin Marietta in 1982 as Vice President of Aerospace Research and Engineering.

Prior to joining Martin Marietta, Mr. Young was Director of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Goddard Space Flight Center in Maryland from 1980 to 1982. During a 12-yeat career with NASA, he served as Deputy Director of the Ames Research Center in California, Director of the Planetary Program in the Office of Space Science at NASA Headquarters in Washington, D.C., and as Mission Director of the Project Viking Mars landing program at Langley Research Center in Virginia.

Mr. Young has received numerous honors and awards for his contribution to the nation's space program, including NASA's highest award, the Distinguished Service Medal, for his role in the Viking project. He also received the Outstanding Leadership Medal for his contributions to the Voyager program, the Meritorious Executive Presidential Rank Award, and the Distinguished Executive Award.

Born in 1938 in Wachapreague, Virginia, Mr. Young received his bachelor of aeronautical engineering degree and a bachelor of mechanical engineering degree in 1964 form the University of Virginia and a master of management degree in 1972 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, which he attended as a Sloan Fellow.

Mr. Young is chairman of the National Business Committee for the Arts. He sits on the board of directors for the BFGoodrich Company, Cooper Industries, Inc., Dial Corp. and the Potomac Electric Power Company. He is director of the Virginia Engineering Foundation of the University if Virginia's School of Engineering and Applied Science.

He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and of the American Astronautical Society, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He also holds and Honorary Doctor of Science degree from Salisbury State University in Maryland.

<<Back to NIST Blue Ribbon Commission on Management and Safety II homepage


Created June 2, 2009, Updated January 4, 2017