Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

2012 Award for Physical Sciences - James K. Olthoff

James Olthoff and Katharine Gebbie

Physical Sciences awardee James K. Olthoff (left), Deputy Director of the Physical Measurement Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Shown presenting the award is Katharine Gebbie, Director of the NIST Physics Laboratory.

Credit: Washington Academy of Sciences

He has received the 2012 Award for Physical Sciences from the Washington Academy of Sciences "for broad contributions to metrology through advancing plasma physics and through management of the NIST Measurement Services Program, the most robust, rigorous and diverse in the world."


Created March 24, 2017, Updated February 3, 2022