Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



The Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation Mutual Recognition Arrangement for Conformity Assessment of Telecommunications Equipment (APEC Tel MRA) was signed by the APEC Tel Ministers on May 8, 1998. There are 21 member economies eligible to participate in the arrangement. Participation in the APEC Tel MRA is voluntary and includes two phases: Phase I for mutual acceptance of test reports and Phase II for certification or product approvals. The United States has implemented the APEC Tel MRA with several countries and more are forthcoming. Meetings are held twice a year to discuss continuing implementation efforts under the APEC Tel MRA.

The U.S. Participates In Phase I (for Testing Laboratories) and Phase II (for Certification Bodies) with the following economies listed below.  Select the name of the economy to see specific requirements for applying for recognition.

  • Australia - Australian Communications Media Authority (ACMA)
  • Canada - Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)
  • Chinese Taipei - The Bureau of Standards, Metrology and Inspection (BSMI)
  • Chinese Taipei - National Communications Commission (NCC)
  • Hong Kong - Office of Communications Authority (OFCA)
  • Malaysia - Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC)
  • Republic of Korea - National Radio Research Agency (RRA)
  • Singapore - Info-communications Media Development Authority (IMDA)
  • Vietnam - Ministry of Information and Communications



Created May 3, 2017, Updated September 26, 2023