Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

About the Subcommittee on Standards (SOS)

About the SOS

The SOS is a forum for senior officials of federal agencies to consider and address critical standards-related issues, including:

  • Supporting U.S. standards policy as defined in the National Technology Transfer and Advancement Act (NTTAA) and Office of Management and Budget Circular A-119 by working with federal agencies and established interagency groups along with the U.S. private sector to articulate the strengths of the U.S. approach to standards setting.

  • Enabling responsive and timely coordination among federal agencies for more effective federal agency engagement relating to the development and use of standards.

  • Improving awareness of best practices and lessons learned among U.S. government leadership, particularly to help address standards related questions in areas of national priority.

  • Improving awareness and understanding across federal agencies about how standards facilitate meeting procurement needs and regulatory policy and guidance goals, while enabling technology development and innovation.


To engage government agencies on standards policy issues, articulate the U.S. model of public-private cooperation in standards setting to domestic and international audiences, and increase awareness within the Federal Government of best practices in addressing standards policy issues.

New Charter - 2012

Previous Charter - 2010

SOS Posted Documents and Resources

The summary and observations are intended to facilitate both internal (government) and external (public) discussion and interactions on issues related to federal government engagement in standardization activities in national priority areas-seeking input about federal agency participation in standards process.

Participating Organizations

Federal Agencies
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • National Telecommunications and Information Administration

  • International Trade Administration

  • Office of the Secretary

  • Patent and Trademark Office

  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (Co-Chair)

  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of the Interior
  • Department of Health and Human Services
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of Justice
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of State
  • Department of Transportation
  • Department of the Treasury
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • General Services Administration
  • Government Printing Office
  • National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • National Science Foundation

Organizations in the Executive Office of the President

  • National Economic Council
  • National Security Council
  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs
  • Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • United States Trade Representative

Independent Federal Agencies (Advisory Capacity)

  • Consumer Product Safety Commission
  • Federal Communications Commission
  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Federal Trade Commission
  • International Trade Commission
  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • US Access Board
  • US Postal Service


Created November 13, 2012, Updated July 3, 2023