Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Standards of Seismic Safety for Existing Federally Owned and Leased Buildings; ICSSC Recommended Practice 10 (RP 10-22)



John Harris


RP 10 allows federal agencies to identify conditions in an existing building that may pose unacceptable seismic risks to the agency in case of undesirable performance of the building during an earthquake. Agency exposure to unacceptable risks is generally determined through a seismic evaluation and risk assessment of the building. RP 10 provides triggers for a seismic evaluation for project circumstances such as major alterations, additions, or repairs, as well as change of use or leasing requirements. Evaluation necessitated by triggers is referred to as the mandatory process. RP 10 additionally addresses risk awareness by having agencies proactively implement evaluations based on inventory screening, which is independent of passive trigger requirements identified in the mandatory process. This process is referred to as the screening process. RP 10 provides circumstances to assist an agency in developing a screening process. RP 10 also identifies buildings exempt from seismic evaluation. RP 10 provides the minimum seismic performance objective for evaluation of existing buildings owned or leased by the Federal Government. The basic performance objective is based on risk to occupant safety in a large, rare earthquake by total or partial collapse of the building. Higher performance objectives are provided that can be used to assess the risks of loss of operative systems, extended re-occupancy and recovery time, or economic losses. RP 10 references model building codes published by the International Code Council as well as national consensus standards published by the American Society of Civil Engineers to provide the basis for defining seismic performance objectives, evaluation procedures, and, where necessary, retrofit criteria.
NIST Interagency/Internal Report (NISTIR) - 8458e2022
Report Number


earthquake, seismic, existing buildings, ICSSC


Harris, J. (2023), Standards of Seismic Safety for Existing Federally Owned and Leased Buildings; ICSSC Recommended Practice 10 (RP 10-22), NIST Interagency/Internal Report (NISTIR), National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, [online],, (Accessed April 18, 2024)
Created January 31, 2023