Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Secure Hash Standard (SHS) [includes Change Notice from 2/25/2004]



Elaine B. Barker


[Superseded by FIPS 180-3 (October 2008):] This standard specifies four secure hash algorithms, SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-384, and SHA-512. All four of the algorithms are iterative, one-way hash functions that can process a message to produce a condensed representation called a message digest. These algorithms enable the determination of a message's integrity: any change to the message will, with a very high probability, result in a different message digest. This property is useful in the generation and verification of digital signatures and message authentication codes, and in the generation of random numbers (bits). [Supersedes FIPS 180-1 (April 1995):]
Federal Inf. Process. Stds. (NIST FIPS) - 180-2
Report Number


computer security, cryptography, message digest, hash function, hash algorithm, Federal Information Processing Standards, Secure Hash Standard


Barker, E. (2002), Secure Hash Standard (SHS) [includes Change Notice from 2/25/2004], Federal Inf. Process. Stds. (NIST FIPS), National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD (Accessed July 21, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created August 1, 2002, Updated February 19, 2017