Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Secure Hash Standard (SHS) [includes Change Notice from 2/25/2004]



Elaine B. Barker


[Superseded by FIPS 180-3 (October 2008):] This standard specifies four secure hash algorithms, SHA-1, SHA-256, SHA-384, and SHA-512. All four of the algorithms are iterative, one-way hash functions that can process a message to produce a condensed representation called a message digest. These algorithms enable the determination of a message's integrity: any change to the message will, with a very high probability, result in a different message digest. This property is useful in the generation and verification of digital signatures and message authentication codes, and in the generation of random numbers (bits). [Supersedes FIPS 180-1 (April 1995):]
Federal Inf. Process. Stds. (NIST FIPS) - 180-2
Report Number


computer security, cryptography, message digest, hash function, hash algorithm, Federal Information Processing Standards, Secure Hash Standard


Barker, E. (2002), Secure Hash Standard (SHS) [includes Change Notice from 2/25/2004], Federal Inf. Process. Stds. (NIST FIPS), National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD (Accessed April 14, 2024)
Created August 1, 2002, Updated February 19, 2017