Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Round-Robin Studies of Two Potential Seebeck Coefficient Standard Reference Materials



Nathan Lowhorn, Winnie K. Wong-Ng, Weiping Zhang, John Lu, Makoto Otani, Evan L. Thomas, Martin L. Green, Thanh Tran


The scientific activities of NIST include the development and distribution of standard reference materials (SRM) for instrument calibration and inter-laboratory data comparison. Full characterization of a thermoelectric material requires measurement of the electrical resistivity, thermal conductivity, and Seebeck coefficient. While standard reference materials exist or have existed for the first two properties, Seebeck coefficient standard reference materials are not available. In an effort to expedite research efforts in this field, we have initiated a project to develop a Seebeck coefficient SRM material. Currently, we have completed a round-robin measurement survey of two candidate materials, Bi2Te3 and constantan (55% Cu and 45% Ni). In this paper, we summarize our plan and development effort, including the results and the methodology used for the round-robin measurement survey.
Applied Physics A-Materials Science & Processing


certification plan, Round-robin study, Seebeck coefficient, standard reference material, statistical analysis


Lowhorn, N. , Wong-Ng, W. , Zhang, W. , Lu, J. , Otani, M. , Thomas, E. , Green, M. and Tran, T. (2009), Round-Robin Studies of Two Potential Seebeck Coefficient Standard Reference Materials, Applied Physics A-Materials Science & Processing (Accessed June 21, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created January 14, 2009, Updated February 19, 2017