Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Information Security (IS) in the System Development Life Cycle (SDLC)



Ae-kyoung Lee, Tanya L. Brewer


Many system development life cycle (SDLC) models exist that can be used by an organization to effectively develop an information system. Security should be incorporated into all phases, from initiation to disposition, of an SDLC model. This Bulletin lays out a general SDLC that includes five phases. Each of the five phases includes a minimum set of information security tasks needed to effectively incorporate security into a system during its development. It illustrates the information security tasks applicable to each SDLC phase and the relevant references.
Electronic Publication


information security, system development lifecycle, system life cycle security


Lee, A. and Brewer, T. (2004), Information Security (IS) in the System Development Life Cycle (SDLC), Electronic Publication, [online], (Accessed July 18, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created July 31, 2004, Updated October 12, 2021