Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Concrete Model Building Subtypes



William T. Holmes


This study was conducted by the National Institute of Building Sciences Building Seismic Safety Council (BSSC). The goal was to develop standardized categories for older concrete buildings that incorporate more detail than those included in the standard set of Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Concrete Model Building Types namely, C1-frames, C2-shear walls, C3-concrete frames with masonry infill, and PC2-precast frames. The recommended subtypes generally can be identified without extensive engineering evaluation and therefore can document the inventory of older concrete buildings in an effort to better quantify how many structures might require mitigation. The identification of these subtypes also contributes to determination of the highest priority research needed to enable rapid implementation of performance-based seismic design for mitigation.
Grant/Contract Reports (NISTGCR) - 10-917-6
Report Number


Holmes, W. (2010), Concrete Model Building Subtypes, Grant/Contract Reports (NISTGCR), National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, [online], (Accessed July 23, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created September 30, 2010, Updated November 10, 2018