Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

AASHTO Materials Reference Laboratory: Thirty Years of Service to the Transportation Community



J H. Pielert, Peter Spellerberg


The AASHTO Materials Reference Laboratory (AMRL) is a research associate program located at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the sponsorship of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials. AMRL and the Cement and Concrete Reference Laboratory (CCRL), which is sponsored by the American Society for Testing and Materials, make up the Construction Materials Reference Laboratories at the NIST Building and Fire Research Laboratory. The primary mission of these two programs is to improve the quality of testing in laboratories that test construction materials. AMRL is involved with materials used in transportation projects, including soils, aggregates, traffic and structural paints, metals, plastic pipe, asphalt binders, and bituminous materials and mixtures. CCRL conducts programs for cements, concrete, aggregates, pozzolans, and reinforcing steel. Both laboratories are outstanding examples of how federal and state governments and the private sector can cooperate to meet a common goal; improving the quality of constrcution in the United States
TR News
Publisher Info
, -1


research facilities, transportation, construction materials, inspection


Pielert, J. and Spellerberg, P. (1996), AASHTO Materials Reference Laboratory: Thirty Years of Service to the Transportation Community, TR News, , -1, [online], (Accessed July 25, 2024)


If you have any questions about this publication or are having problems accessing it, please contact

Created March 31, 1996, Updated February 17, 2017