Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Sarah Hughes (Fed)

Sarah Hughes joined the Public Safety Communications Research (PSCR) Division’s Open Innovation team in April 2018 and serves as a Prize Competition and Challenge Specialist. In this role, she manages internal and external R&D, communications, legal, administrative, and procurement resources to design and implement prize competitions and challenges to advance PSCR’s mission. She is responsible for managing all aspects of the prize competitions and challenges assigned to her within the Open Innovation portfolio. Prior to PSCR, Sarah supported entrepreneurs, small businesses, and innovation at the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for five years in many different roles within Colorado and Washington, DC. Sarah first started her federal public services as Presidential Management Fellow. Sarah holds a Master of Public Affairs degree from the School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA) at Indiana University and a Bachelor of Arts degree from DePauw University.


Advancing Measurement Science for Microelectronics: CHIPS R&D Metrology Program

Marla L. Dowell, Hannah Brown, Gretchen Greene, Paul D. Hale, Brian Hoskins, Sarah Hughes, Bob R. Keller, R Joseph Kline, June W. Lau, Jeff Shainline
The CHIPS and Science Act of 2022 called for NIST to "carry out a microelectronics research program to enable advances and breakthroughs....that will accelerate

2019 Public Safety Broadband Stakeholder Presentations by NIST Authors

Richard A. Rouil, Tom Henderson, Marco Mezzavilla, Michele Polese, Jaden Pieper, Chunmei Liu, Silas Thompson, David W. Griffith, Christopher Walton, Christopher D. Dennis, Fabio C. da Silva, John S. Garofolo, James M. Horan, Samuel Hood, Julie Stroup, Christine Task, Terese Manley, Sam Ray, Alison Kahn, Maxwell Maurice, Hien V. Nguyen, Frederick R. Byers, Kristen K. Greene, Mary Theofanos, Yee-Yin Choong, Sandra Spickard Prettyman, Pamela J. Konkol, Jeffrey Cichonski, Bill Fisher, Gema Howell, Mike Dolan, Adam Lewis, Michael Ogata, John Beltz, Michael Bartock, Sarah Hughes, Santosh Rajvaidya, Craig Connelly, Scott Ledgerwood, Megan Waldock, Dereck R. Orr, Donald Bradshaw, Jeb Benson
2019 Public Safety Broadband Stakeholder Presentations by NIST Authors

PSCR 2021: Innovating Along Side Public Safety

Sarah Hughes
During this session, Adam Caplan, an immersive technology evangelist, and Division Chief Scot Barthelmass of the Eureka Fire Protection District share about

PSCR 2021: PSCR's Pulse Accelerator

Sarah Hughes, Ellen Ryan
This session first provides an overview about PSCR's motivation for hosting the Pulse Accelerator and the program design; introduces the Pulse team and the

PSCR 2021: CHARIoT Challenge Journey Overview

Sarah Hughes
This brief overview provides the basic information about the CHARIoT Challenge, explaining the PSCR 2021 CHARIoT Challenge Journey or the series of
Created June 20, 2018, Updated August 8, 2023