Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Ray Radebaugh (Assoc)

Until his retirement in March, 2009, Dr. Ray Radebaugh was a physicist with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) (formerly the National Bureau of Standards) in Boulder, Colorado.

He has conducted and supervised research on measurements and models for cryogenic properties and processes, such as refrigeration and heat transfer, at temperatures ranging from about 10 mK to room temperature.

Dr. Radebaugh has published over 160 papers as part of the open literature and has 5 patents. He has received several awards, including the Samuel C. Collins Award in 2009 from the Cryogenic Engineering Conference for his lifetime contributions to cryogenics, the Department of Commerce Gold Medal in 2003, the Silver Medal in 1995, three best paper awards at the Cryogenic Engineering Conferences, the 2001 Robert Vance Award from the Cryogenic Society of America, the R&D 100 Award in 1990 for the thermoacoustically driven pulse tube refrigerator, and the J&E Hall Gold Medal in 1999 from the Institute of Refrigeration in England for his pioneering work on pulse tube refrigerators.

Dr. Radebaugh has been an invited speaker at numerous conferences, including the plenary speaker at the 1996 International Cryogenic Engineering Conference, the 1998 Applied Superconductivity Conference, the 2003 and the 2008 International Conference on Cryogenics and Refrigeration, and the 25th Low Temperature Physics Conference in 2008.

From 1981 to 1998, Dr. Radebaugh taught and coordinated each year the one-week short course on Cryocoolers at UCLA.

He also taught one- to three-day short courses on cryocoolers for the Korean Institute of Machinery and Materials, Cryogenic Society of America, Georgia Institute of Technology, the Air Force Research Laboratory/Kirtland AFB, and the NASA/Glenn Research Center.

He was an invited lecture at three NATO Advanced Study Institutes, including one in 2004 on Microscale Heat Transfer.

He is on the editorial board of the journal Cryogenics and of the Cryogenic Society of America.

Dr. Radebaugh has been involved with the organization of the International Cryocooler Conference since its inception in 1977, serving as chairman in 1984 and as the registered agent for the corporation since 1996.

He is a board member of the Cryogenic Engineering Conference and was chairman in 1987.


Design and Analysis of a 150 K Cascade Joule-Thomson Microcooler

Ray Radebaugh, Peter E. Bradley, Collin J. Coolidge, Ryan J. Lewis, Y.C. Lee
Lightweight and compact microcoolers are needed for advanced, hand-held infrared systems. A temperature of 150 K is adequate for high sensitivity with some of
Created September 4, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022