Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

David L. Duewer (Fed)

Dave is a chemical metrologist with particular expertise in chemometrics, experimental design, exploratory data analysis, graphical communications, interlaboratory comparisons, measurement uncertainty, and quality assurance/control. He is an advocate for R&D at interfaces of chemistry, biology, and measurement science. His current interests include better approaches to the: evaluation of chemical purity, demonstration of comparability among reference materials that nominally deliver the same measurands, and summarization of chemical data that have defined measurement uncertainties.

Professional Awards and Recognition

  • US DOC Gold Medal Award, 2008
  • CITAC Most Interesting/Important Papers on Metrology in Chemistry, 2007
  • JCTLM Recognition of Achievement, 2007
  • NIST Edward Bennett Rosa Award, 2003
  • US DOC Bronze Medal Award, 2002
  • W.J. Youden Award in Interlaboratory Testing, American Statistical, 2000

Membership and Professional Activities

  • Clinical Laboratory Standards Institute (CLSI)
    -  Advisor, Evaluation Protocols Committee, 2006 – present
  • Joint Committee for Traceability in Laboratory Medicine (JCTLM) 
    -  Member, Quality Systems Team, 2003 - present
  • North American Chapter of the International Chemometrics Society (NAmICS)     
    -  Co-founder and Editor-in-Chief, 1990 – 1993
    -  Membership Secretary, 1993 – present

Selected Publications

Degrees of Equivalence for Chemical Measurement Capabilities: Primary pH

David L. Duewer, Kenneth W. Pratt, Chainarong Cherdchu, Nongluck Tangpaisarnkul2 Nongluck Tangpaisarnkul2, Akiharu Hioki, Masaki Ohata, Petra Spitzer, Michal M?ri?ssy, Leo¿ Vysko¿il
The Key Comparison (KC) studies of the Consultative Committee for Amount of Substance – Metrology in Chemistry (CCQM) help ensure the reliability of chemical

Demonstrating the Comparability of Certified Reference Materials

David L. Duewer, Katrice A. Lippa, Stephen E. Long, Karen E. Murphy, Katherine E. Sharpless, Lorna T. Sniegoski, Michael J. Welch
Certified Reference Materials (CRMs) enable the meaningful comparison of measurement results over time and place. When CRMs are used to calibrate or verify the


Methods for the SI Value Assignment of the Purity of Organic Compounds (IUPAC Technical Report)

David L. Duewer, Katrice Lippa, Brian Lang, Blaza Toman, Michael Nelson, Kenneth W. Pratt, Steven Westwood, Yoshitaka Yoshitaka Shimuzu, Takeshi Saito, Beatrice Lalerle, Xinhua Dai, Stephen Davies, Marina Ricci, Annarita Baldan, Stefan Sarge, Haifeng Wang, Ralf D. Josephs, Michal Mariassy, Dietmar Pfieffer, John Warren, Wolfram Bremser, Stephen L.R. Ellison, Ting Huang, Ales Fajgelj, Lindsey Mackay, Robert Wielgosz
Metrological traceability to the SI of the result of an analysis for an organic compound is achieved through a calibration hierarchy anchored in a primary
Created October 9, 2019, Updated December 8, 2022