Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Recognizing New Cybersecurity Scholarship Efforts

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has introduced for the first time, the CyberCorps: Scholarship for Service (SFS) Hall of Fame. The SFS Hall of Fame recognizes SFS alumni who have made outstanding contributions  to cybersecurity.

Established in 2000, the SFS program provides scholarships to students studying cybersecurity and funding to increase the U.S. higher education enterprise's ability to produce cybersecurity professionals. To date, more than 3,300 students have received scholarships and committed to work for federal, state, local or tribal government organizations in positions related to cybersecurity. Of these, three have been recognized in the inaugural class of SFS Hall of Fame recipients:

  • Josiah Dykstra, U.S. Department of Defense
  • Mischel Kwon, MKACyber
  • Steven Hernandez, U.S. Department of Education

Red the full press release at

The NSF has also recently announced over $5.5M in funding to four universities who became the newest institutions added to the SFS program:

  • Purdue University Northwest
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • Louisiana Tech University
  • Texas A&M University Main Campus

Funding will be used to build the Nation’s cybersecurity workforce by providing scholarships to students who are studying cybersecurity.

Read the full press release at

Released January 10, 2018, Updated February 16, 2018