Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

NIST Seeks Applications for 2016 Precision Measurement Grants

Want to join a group that has included four Nobel Prize recipients? Apply to the latest round of the National Institute of Standards and Technology's (NIST) long-running Precision Measurement Grants Program (PMGP).

Since 1970, these grants have enabled researchers to conduct significant work in the field of fundamental measurement or the determination of more precise values for fundamental constants of nature. NIST sponsors these research projects primarily to encourage basic, measurement-related research in universities and colleges and other research laboratories. Previous recipients of the grant have included Nobel laureates Theodor W. Hänsch, Carl E. Wieman, Steven Chu, and Daniel Tsui. The PMGP is intended to make it possible for researchers to pursue new ideas in measurement science for which other sources of support may be difficult to find. 

NIST anticipates funding two projects at most, depending on the availability of funding, for up to three years at $50,000 per year. Accredited institutions of higher education; hospitals; nonprofit organizations; commercial organizations; state, local and Indian tribal governments; foreign governments; organizations under the jurisdiction of foreign governments; international organizations; and federal agencies with appropriate legal authority are all eligible to submit proposals.  

Applications must be received by Feb. 2, 2016.  

Full details of the program, rules and the application process are available at under funding opportunity 2016-NIST-PMGP-01.

Released January 8, 2016, Updated January 25, 2023